Geeks logo

The Shrew

Comic Book

By Lizzie MartinezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Shrew Comic Book

This book has been in the works since 2019. It will become a series in The Shrew Solo saga. You can now get a digital copy of The Shrew Comic Book Cover.

I can tell that being known as a scriptwriter, writer, and published author it still is hard trying to come up with stories that work. Stories that make sense. Stories that move people. Stories that make one escape from the real world, even if it's for a few minutes.

How did I come up with The Shrew character? In the early 2000s, there was a show with Stan Lee that came out called "Who wants to be a superhero?" I wanted to have a superhero created to represent little people. I wanted to showcase the talents of little people like myself. Several prizes would include getting the character you create to be put into a comic book, a cash prize, and meet Stan "The Man" Lee. I wanted to have the opportunity for myself and began trying to put together a costume for this character. I got the goggles for the character and as I was trying to find other pieces for the costume I found out that there would be no auditions for where I live and I was so disappointed. It took a while for me to get over the disappointment and I knew I wanted to do something with the character. I still wanted to bring The Shrew to life. One day it struck me. I'm a writer and I can make my own comic book that is action packed with The Shrew character. If I couldn't audition and hopefully win to have a comic book created about the character, I could create the character myself and have it printed and sell it myself.

When I tell others that there aren't little people in new comic books that are current and hip I get told about characters from years and years ago that appeared in this episode or that episode of an old school comic book. I don't want to have to look in old school comics. I want to look at comics NOW and see a little person in them. I want comics to be inclusive with people as well. While comics and movies are inclusive about people with disabilities they still aren't inclusive about having little people appear in films, except by using the same little people here and there. I want it to be a normal thing to see in all of the entertainment industry. I don't want little people to be the butt of the joke in film or anywhere else and so I created The Shrew. A female superhero in her own right. A superhero who I consider to be my alter ego. Some people say that they have an alter ego. Like there's Tony Stark then there's Iron Man. Well, mine is The Shrew.

Watch The Shrew Video ---> HERE

What has helped me tremendously is the fact that there are many who have helped me in many ways to create The Shrew merchandise to help make sure that I can continue making The Shrew comic books. Many know it takes time and energy to make sure this book is successful. I am also very grateful for those that have been even more supportive because of this pandemic. Those that get their autographed copy of The Shrew and become a member of The Shrew Crew. Each person who shares their picture with me holding their book has their pic posted on The Shrew FB page daily. As long as fans send in their pics, I will continue to post their image. We also have fan art coming in as well. I will be sharing that as well as long as we have the art coming in. The support is wonderful.

The Shrew Face Mask

The Shrew comic book one can purchase a digital copy of the comic book or they can even have the option to get an autographed copy of their own mailed to them by contacting me on messenger.

Issue #2 is in the works now. And here is a sneak peek for you.

Issue #2 is coming!

comics
Like

About the Creator

Lizzie Martinez

Little person, actor, published author of several books & other works, poet, Script Writer, Expert Paranormal Investigator/ Consultant/Instructor & Founder of my own paranormal business & Sensitive Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.