Geeks logo

The Santa Clause 2 - A Movie Review

The sequel to 'The Santa Clause' aims at an important moral about family and love.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Find a Mrs. Clause before Christmas, okay, I can do this. Oh, this will be hard.

Picking up after the events of the first film, The Santa Clause 2 is a 2002 sequel. Santa or Scott Calvin is in a bind. Learning about family issues back home, Scott has to find a Mrs. Clause before Christmas. If he doesn’t his will to be Santa Clause is no more.

I always enjoy watching The Santa Clause films around Christmas. Aside from being cheery holiday films to get audiences into the Christmas spirit, they hold an even deeper meaning. The sequel to The Santa Clause aims at an important moral about family and love.

Tim Allen is the highlight of every Santa Clause film. I like the way he portrays Scott. He is a flawed man, but he learns from his mistakes. Most importantly, he loves his family, especially Charlie. He has several predicaments hanging over his shoulders but makes it his duty to put family before anything else.

Allen did an excellent job with the growth of his character. And he does a fantastic job portraying his ‘toy counterpart.’ I almost forget that it is Allen because he manages to change his personality.

I was very impressed with Eric Lloyd. He was terrific as Charlie in the first film, but he has developed his acting abilities. Writers drove deeper into Charlie’s character. Lloyd was not afraid to showcase his vulnerable side. The scene where he expresses the turmoil of having to hide the secret that his dad is Santa was a profound moment.

One of my favorite elements that I never focused on until rewatching The Santa Clause franchise was the positive family dynamic. This film is a great example to families that have gone through divorces, remarriage, or garnered a new addition to the family. Instead of holding grudges, the family manages to have a healthy relationship.

Expect to see recognizable faces from the first film such as Wendy Crewson and Judge Reinhold. I cannot believe that I never realized David Krumholtz was the same actor who played Joel Glicker in Addams Family Values until now! New faces include Elizabeth Mitchell, Spencer Breslin, and Liliana Mumy.

The ensemble of legendary figures is enjoyable. And Molly Shannon puts on an entertaining (albeit awkward) Christmas song in the middle of a restaurant. It doesn’t matter how small your part is. Each member of the cast stands out across The Santa Clause films.

Michael Lambeck succeeded in capturing the same holiday essence from the first film. I commend him for the notable growth in the story. Every aspect of this film is delightful, especially with the evolving relationship between Scott and Carol (Mitchell). Never give up on yourself. Or love.

Lambeck also achieved the holiday layout for the film. I feel like I am actually walking through Santa’s workshop at the North Pole. The Santa Clause 2 has a wonderful charm to it.

The film does an excellent job with comedy. It makes audiences laugh. I always enjoy the banter between Scott and Niel (Reinhold). As a kid, I giggled at Comet the Reindeer’s humorous antics. Some moments felt unrealistic, but they were for story purposes.

Speaking of which, filmmakers created detailed animatronics of the reindeer. I am so glad that they did not incorporate CGI. It would have ruined the realism.

Holidays are the best time to binge all your favorite Christmas films with your family. I like to watch The Santa Clause films every year. They have a special meaning. If you have not yet watched this heartwarming trilogy I suggest that you do so.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.