Geeks logo

The Return of the Order: Act 32

Act 32: Reunions and Reapers

By Lorelei_SandsPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

“There is a great deal we need to catch up on,” stated Typhon as Sebastian led him and Ciel to the parlour. “But first, where is Margaret and my grandchildren?”

“The twins are most likely in their rooms with their reapers. We are unlikely to see them before dinner.”

“Both are with a reaper? I thought only Lilith had grown attached to one. Who by all the fates has Raven taken a liking to?”

Louisa paused for a moment, observing her father's face, "Grell."

Typhon’s eyes widened. He looked from Louisa to Sebastian, “you are both allowing this, given his past with Sebastian?”

"It is a very long story, father."

Shaking his head, “I guess you’d better start at the beginning, but first what of Margaret?”

Louisa closed her eyes and composed herself before speaking, “Margaret, she, chose to end our contract. I will explain why on our way to see her, but you must understand, every decision she has made was hers and hers alone.”

“You are worrying me, child. Take me to her now, she is as dear to me as any member of this family.”

“Yes, of course, father.”

****

Margaret lay in her bed. The transformation to reaper had exhausted her and bandages still covered the marks on her wrists. Her eyes opened as she heard Louisa and her father approaching. Fear and anticipation crept up her spine. She had not seen Typhon since before he and Louisa had been taken by the Order. Margaret knew that Louisa had told him everything she had passed to her about the day the Order came and her mother’s last moments. How would Typhon react finally being in the room with her, would he blame her, hate her for surviving instead of Jayne? Thoughts swirled around as the door opened and Typhon walked him. He strode up to the bed, gathered Margaret in his arms and hugged her.

“My Margaret, you deserved so much more from life.”

“I would not have exchanged any part of it, Typhon.”

“I am truly blessed to call you friend.”

Tears formed in Margaret’s eyes as relief flooded through her. Typhon sat silently holding the now sobbing Margaret. Finally, he held her face in his hands, “I know you have heard this already, but you and Undertaker are both dear to this family. Your willingness to act in our best interests despite your own feelings,” Typhon paused, “you would have made a wonderful demon.”

Margaret smiled, “I couldn’t, I just…..”

"Louisa has explained, I was a fool to never see it. Jayne always had my heart, and it blinded me to anything else."

“And I loved you all the more for it. I could not stand by and simply watch you remain in pain for the rest of eternity. Now with Undertaker’s gift, I may actually be able to help you find her again.”

"I don't understand; how?"

Margaret smiled, “I will explain everything that Undertaker has told me, but you must promise to be patient and to see this crisis through before you go scouring the human realm.”

Typhon huffed in exasperation, “one day as a reaper and she is already talking in riddles.”

Louisa laughed and shook her head. “I will leave you two to catch up and go and inform the twins of your arrival, father.”

Typhon smirked, “yes, and do tell the reapers that I am so looking forward to meeting them again.”

*****

Louisa made her way down the hallway to Lilith's room first. She placed her hand on the doorknob but caught herself and knocked. Louisa rolled her eyes as she heard hurried movements from within the room before her daughter's voice called for her to enter. Louisa stifled a laugh as she entered the room. The pair sat on the bed, each with a book in hand, trying, and failing, to look unphased by her arrival.

“Lilith, your grandfather and Ciel have arrived, did you not hear the alarm?”

“No, mother, I was…..”

Louisa raised her hand and cut her off swiftly, “I am sure I do not want to know, especially as you are incapable of lying to me.”

Both William and Lilith's cheeks burned red, and Louisa shook her head as she looked at the dishevelled pair. "I expect you both down for dinner at seven, and properly dressed please."

Lilith opened her mouth to reply, but her mother had already left the room.

Louisa took a deep breath before knocking on Raven’s door and was surprised when the response was immediate. Entering the room, she found Raven running a brush through Grell’s hair.

“You may find that easier once the last of the blood is washed out,” Louisa said, moving into the room. “We should be able to remove the bandaging today. Raven why don’t you draw Grell a bath while I check his wound.”

Raven looked from his mother to Grell, who smiled, “darling, if your mother was going to do me any harm, I think she would have done it already.”

“He is right, I think we have moved past that now.”

Reassured, Raven moved to the bathroom. Louisa unwrapped the bandaging from Grell’s chest. As she worked, she moved her gaze to meet Grell’s. “Please, remember that demons bond for life. If this is just a fling to you, then let him know before he gets attached.”

“It is far more than that Louisa, darling. I will admit, when I first saw him, my only thought was to achieve what I never achieved with his father. But it’s not that now; I haven’t even laid a hand on him, I promise, which is more than I can say for William….”

“I am aware what those two are up to, thank you. William’s heart and intentions were clear from the beginning, yours, well, you cannot blame me for my concerns.”

"With my past, I cannot, but I want to know him, to love him, to have the same connection that you and Sebastian have." Louisa raised an eyebrow and Grell grinned before continuing, "I said I hadn't, not I didn't want to when Raven is ready."

"That is more information than I needed, thank you. For what it is worth, I do believe you, and I," Louisa hesitated, she never believed she would say the words that were forming in her mind, "I, think you have a lot to offer each other."

Grell sat, open-mouthed, not knowing how to respond.

“Now, please tell Raven that his grandfather is here, and you are both expected down for dinner.”

Fear crossed Grell’s face, “Typhon is here?”

“Yes, with Ciel. Now dinner at seven. Do not be late.” With that, Louisa swept from the room, leaving a slightly panicked Grell to join Raven in the bathroom.

fan fiction
2

About the Creator

Lorelei_Sands

Professional copywriter and mother during the day. Poet, dabbler in fanfiction and erotica at night. I've been living with a long term chronic condition for over 20 years and I'm not ready to give up the fight yet. Glory or Valhalla.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.