Geeks logo

The Return of the Order: Act 26

Act 26: Dangerous Choices

By Lorelei_SandsPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Sebastian left to rouse Margaret, and they both made their way back to Raven's room where they worked to remove the bandaging. Margaret frowned at the bloody mess they encountered.

“There must be a shard of the scythe left in there. It will need to be removed if we have any chance of stopping the bleeding.”

"I removed all that I saw. If it is there, then it is already deep inside Grell's chest. If it moves towards his heart as we work…" Sebastian did not need or want to finish the sentence. As much as he hated the reaper for many of his past actions, those in the library had saved his son.

"Then, my healing magic may be all that is left to try."

There was uncertainty in Margaret’s voice. She had not practiced since forming the contract with Louisa; she knew that any magical exertion could weaken her and just setting the protections on the manor with Undertaker had taken its toll. Her contract would not allow her to weaken herself too much. Louisa would be forced to stop her if her own life became at risk.

Sebastian understood the dilemma she faced. If she put herself at risk, Louisa could be forced to act, and the simplest way to ensure Margaret's safety was to dispatch the reaper. There was only one way Margaret could attempt the work without that risk, but only Louisa could set that path.

Hearing a sound at the door, Sebastian turn. Louisa entered the room, surveying the sight before her. She was being asked to choose between one of the few constants in her life and a reaper she held no love for at all. Only as she moved closer did they all realise that Raven was awake and already gripping hold of Grell’s hand.

Tears welled in Raven’s eyes as he slowly realised what was happening and the impossible choices that those in the room were being faced with. It was Grell who shattered the silence.

“No. I have caused enough trouble in my life. If this is the end, then let it be so. Let me die having done at least one honourable thing with the second chance I was given.”

Margaret turned Louisa and placed her hands on her shoulders. “You know that with what is to come, he will be of more use than I. Your family, those like you, need all those that can fight. What is the shortening of my life compared to that? I would die within weeks of the end of the contract anyway. I know you hold out hope of changing my mind about my end, but I will not, cannot live as a demon. It would be too much for my heart to bear.”

A weak smile flitted across Louisa’s face. She nodded, “my Margaret, you have given so much already and all for love. You and Undertaker make a fine pair in your lost dreams. As much as it pains me, I consent. I release you from the contract, I forgo your soul and condemn you to the end of your life without my protection.”

Tears stained Louisa’s face as the contract mark disappeared from her hand. Margaret’s knees buckled as the strength Louisa had given her left her body. Sebastian moved quickly to catch her, steadying her in his arms.

“We do not have much time. As my strength recedes so too will what magic I have left.”

Sebastian sat Margaret next to the bed, giving her access to the wound in Grell’s side. She placed her hands over the wound and closed her eyes. Grell opened his mouth to speak, only for a glare from Louisa to make him close it again.

The air rippled under Margaret’s hands and pain etched itself on Grell’s face as Margaret spoke the incantations. Her words of power worked to slowly move the enchanted shard clear of Grell’s body without it piercing his heart. The colour drained from her face as she worked, and blood pooled at the side of the bed. Grell’s eyelids fluttered, and his jaw clenched as he tried to hide the pain that seared through him. As the piece moved, Grell lost his fight with consciousness, and the light faded from his eyes.

Raven moved closer to Grell, his hand still grasping the reaper. Margaret continued the incantation as her body swayed with the effort. As the shining piece of metal came to the surface, Sebastian plucked it clear of Grell’s flesh and threw it to the edge of the room. He placed a hand on Margaret's shoulder, letting her know it was done before moving to stem the bleeding once move. Margaret lowered her hands and collapsed; Louisa rushed to catch her before she fell to the floor. Lifting her into her arms, she carried Margaret back to her room.

Raven placed his hand on Grell’s chest, searching for a heartbeat as Sebastian closed the wound and replaced the bandages. Completing his work, Sebastian raised his face and looked at his son.

“There is a heartbeat, but it is weak,” Raven whispered.

“He is in the hands of the fates now, my son. We have done all we can.”

Raven nodded and moved his hand to brush the hair of the red reaper, gently moving it from his pale features.

Sebastian watched silently, he took a deep breath, not knowing what to say to help. “I must check on Margaret, she…”

Raven looked up and met his father’s worried gaze. He knew the price Margaret had just paid to try and save the reaper.

"I will watch him, father. If there is any change, I will call you; mother and Margaret need you now."

Sebastian made his way to Margaret's room passing Ronald and Undertaker, both of whom said nothing as he passed.

Louisa laid Margaret on her bed and sat down beside her. Her pulse was weak, and her breathing shallow. Louisa had no way of knowing how much damage the incantations had done. Without the protections that the contract had afforded Margaret, the illness would come back with force. It would ravage her already weakened form, and the end would come quickly. Tears stung Louisa's eyes as she held Margaret's hand.

Sebastian walked behind her and placed a hand on her shoulder. “Is there anything we can do?”

“No, my love, all we can do now is wait. She may wake up; she may drift from here to her end.”

Sebastian moved to her side. “Are you suffering any ill effects from curtailing the contract?”

“I feel empty, there is no connection to her anymore. Without it or the connection to you, I feel lost.”

Sebastian knelt by her and wrapped his arms around her waist. There were no words that could comfort his mate, and he too felt at a loss.

After a moment, Louisa continued, “I did not know what to expect or whether it would even work.”

“It is a unique situation indeed and an action that is rarely taken by any of our kind.”

“Tell me that she was right and that she did not give her life for nothing.”

"He is weak, but he will fight if only to spite me and try to woo our son."

A ghost of a smile graced Louisa's face, "I never thought I would feel anything but contempt for that reaper, but if he had not acted, it would be our Raven laying there now."

“I know, my love, we live in strange times indeed.”

Thank you for reading. Please share if you have enjoyed this chapter and tips are always welcome as they help me to continue to write.

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Lorelei_Sands

Professional copywriter and mother during the day. Poet, dabbler in fanfiction and erotica at night. I've been living with a long term chronic condition for over 20 years and I'm not ready to give up the fight yet. Glory or Valhalla.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.