Geeks logo

The Reel Sisters

A book review

By TangerinehippiestudiosPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Reel Sisters by Michelle Cummings is a book about a group of women from different walks of life and different ages come together to fly fish and socialize. They teach each other how to fish as well as give each other advice. It is almost like a book club full of women but instead of reading they catch and release fish in order to unwind and relax. They also meet a mysterious stranger on one of their fishing trips but in order to leave out spoilers I won’t go into further details of the new woman added to their little group.

My favorite thing about this book is that these women are all different ages and have different experiences. So they end up sharing advice and words of wisdom as well as joke around as close friends. I don’t get to see my friends who are girls very often so reading this book made me feel like I was in a group of my best girl friends. I really love how as I kept reading further I felt closer and closer to these women.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was all the swear words that some of the women used. I understand that some people have a vulgar vocabulary but cussing has always made me a bit uncomfortable because that’s not how I was raised. However, that wasn’t a total turn off because swearing is just a part of some people’s vocabulary so I guess I can let that slide. I just wish that some of the women didn’t use some of the words that they used and had a bigger vocabulary than they did.

I rate this book a 3 out of 4 stars. I actually would have given it 4 stars if there wasn’t any grammar errors or vulgarity. I didn’t see a whole lot of errors so I feel that the author may have done quite a bit of editing before publishing. Other than all the cussing the writing was actually very good. The author really knows how to captivate the audience and keep readers intrigued in the characters and their life stories. I really and truly felt like I knew these women and felt like I could also be in their group and be their best friend. As I read this book I kept missing all of my friends so the author did a great job of keeping me intrigued in these women’s’ lives.

I think this book was great and it kept me turning pages after page wondering what would happen next. The audience that fits this book best would be women or even men who have a feminine side. I feel like anyone who has ever been in a book club should have read this book. It just feels like a classic book club read. So I highly recommend this book to anyone who feels lonely and just needs to feel like a part of something bigger than themselves. I really love this book. It was definitely great read and a real page turner.

I think out of all the books that I have read for the book club that I’m in this is my favorite so far. It is something that I think everyone should read right now if they can’t see all of their friends. That’s the great thing about reading. You get to connect to characters and the characters you are reading about tend to become your very best friends. It’s like watching a great movie or television show. The actors and characters tend to come to life for you in your reality.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Tangerinehippiestudios

☮️Inspired by the inspiration around me☮️Get inspired to change the world☮️Or take a look at mine☮️My aura is orange and bleeds throughout my words☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.