Geeks logo

The Owl Beast's Iris(The Owl House fanfic)

This takes place before the show starts. Thanks to the Owl Beast, Eda has to rewatch All the terrible things that happened to her because of it. Including the love of her life breaking up with her, now she has to watch that one again with the emotional additive of the song Iris by Goo Goo Dolls. The song lyrics are in italics. The song is not mine. Content Warning: s3lf h@rm

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Owl Beast on a forest green box on a mint green background the title is slip above and below the forest green box. gr

I felt sleep come over me as I mentally prepared myself for what the Owl Beast had in store for me tonight.

For some reason music was playing, that was new. Then the visions came.

Raine. I had to watch Raine break up with me… again. I wish it got easier. I memorized their words ages ago, but it still stung each time. But tonight, there was a song playing.

And I'd give up forever to touch you

'Cause I know that you feel me somehow

You're the closest to heaven that I'll ever be

And I don't want to go home right now

I would really give up everything for that one chance to be with them, and even though this is the hardest Owl Beast dream it was also my favorite because I could see them again, and hear their voice again. I don’t want to be alone anymore.

And all I can taste is this moment

And all I can breathe is your life

And sooner or later, it's over

I just don't wanna miss you tonight

“Are you ok? Is this the curse?” their voice held the same amount of concern as it always did in this dream.

I looked at my younger self. “Yes, you may be broken but they still want to see you and let them know who you are for Titan's sake!” I knew that no matter what I’d say nothing would change how the dream played out.

And I don't want the world to see me

'Cause I don't think that they'd understand

When everything's made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

I was back in the owl house, but it was before I fixed the place up. I was sorting through a trash pile. Why’d the Beast bring me here?

Then I saw it. In the trash pile, there was a fiddle. I knew what happened next. It was less than a week after the breakup. “There are better ways to deal with your emotions!” I called in vain to the memory me.

Dream me picked it up and started to play. After two off-key notes, she threw it across the room. “Oh, Rainstorm!” she cried, as she dropped to the floor, she was too confused, frustrated, and stubborn to cry, but she did crawl across the room to the instrument. The plastic chinrest was cracked. It was sharp and I didn’t remember what caused us to do that, but she took that ragged piece of plastic and sliced her arm, watching the blood drip down onto the floor for the first time. A habit I used for the better part of the decade.

And you can't fight the tears that ain't coming

Or the moment of truth in your lies

When everything feels like the movies

Yeah, you bleed just to know, you're alive

Each time the verse played the Owl Beast would show me a different memory of me cutting myself. I rubbed my arm where I cut it, thanks to healing magic there were no scars, but sometimes it was almost like I could see the red lines. This was one of those times.

And I don't want the world to see me

'Cause I don't think that they'd understand

When everything's made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

And I don't want the world to see me

'Cause I don't think that they'd understand

When everything's made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

And I don't want the world to see me

'Cause I don't think that they'd understand

When everything's made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

'

I just want you to know who I am

I just want you to know who I am

I just want you to know who I am

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.