Geeks logo

The Loss of A King

Wakanda Forever

By Coco Jenae`Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It isn’t often, that a writer like me is rendered almost speechless. But at the news of Chadwick Boseman’s passing, I’m at a loss, a complete loss. Nothing about it makes sense to me, when someone so talented, still so young, with so much more to give to the world as well as his craft, is taken from us.

I think a story of the first time I saw Chadwick in a movie is the best I can do here. It’s a silly story, but one I think we might need just to smile a little in this difficult time.

Years ago, “Black Panther” was out in theatres. I hadn’t seen it yet, had heard a lot of great things about it, and was excited for the chance to do so.

A dear friend of mine, who we’ll call Elizabeth for this story, were walking to her car, trying to think of something to do for the afternoon.

“Lets go see a movie!” We both agreed.

“Alright, what movie?” She asked.

“How about ‘Black Panther’?” I suggested.

She smiled, excited. “Oh yeah! I’ve been hearing a lot about it, and my God that was such an interesting time in our history, especially for the Bay Area.”

Elizabeth is thirty-three years older than me, and was speaking of The Black Panthers from 1960s, I realized the second she said it. I couldn’t help myself, I giggled.

“What?” She asked.

“Not those Black Panthers, dear; it’s a Marvel comic movie.”

Of course she was mortified, embarrassed, and we laughed about it a good ten minutes. Then she said: “Don’t you tell anyone that.”

“Oh I’m telling EVERYONE that story.” I said.

And we laughed some more.

As you can see, I’m true to my word, and I’m telling everyone here and now. Told you, Elizabeth!

Once we were in the theatre, watching the film, both of us knew we were watching something special, something that hadn’t really been done before. We were watching a film, that would speak to people who for far too long have been told to wait their turn. Their turn was here, it was earned, and it was a moment I will never forget.

Much of the power of “Black Panther” came from Chadwick Boseman’s powerful performance. A performance you could see with every move he made, every breath he took, he had been dreaming of this moment, and loved every second of it.

He loved his work, that much one can see in the force he drove into every line he spoke. Chadwick became someone else in his work, in the same breath, he never let that commitment to his work get to his head.

By all accounts of those who knew him, he was a humble man, who loved his fans and never let the fame he was gaining turn him into anything more than what he was; a man, who wanted to do his best at his work, and make a difference in the world.

No one knew he was sick. That’s the other thing that says much about his character. Chadwick had been diagnosed with colon cancer in 2016, and never said a word. What he did instead, was fight his fight behind closed doors, and went onto his next acting job.

He never wanted to be felt sorry for. He never wanted to let the world see him cry, even though I’m sure there many times during his treatment he felt like crying no matter who saw it. Yet, he kept pushing. He kept fighting, until the bitter end. The real tragedy is that it all happened so soon, at only 43 years old.

Even in the short amount of time he was with us, what Chadwick Boseman gave the world is something much bigger, and much more meaningful than most can ever imagine. He gave the boys and girls who never had heroes who looked like them the chance to be heroes. That, my friends, is something that can NEVER be taken away from him. He will be missed, loved, and honored for the work he managed to accomplish while he was here.

WAKANDA FOREVER OUR KING!!!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Coco Jenae`

Fiction Writer

Drag Artist

Reader

Film Lover

A Lover

A Pursuer of Wellness

Nomyo ho renge kyo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.