Geeks logo

The Last of Us

Episodes 1 & 2

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished about a year ago 3 min read

So my husband and I started watching HBO Max’s latest production, The Last of Us. All I knew going into it was that it was based off a video game that I watched him play about 10 minutes of and that it was about zombies, a part of feature creatures that I never liked. Zombies are gross and weird and there is no consistency with their lore and I think writers that center them try too hard to be interesting and simply end up being lazy. That said, The Last of Us got me with solid scientific backing. As well as having a truly amazing cast that I love from their other projects. Pedro Pascal was a wonderful casting choice and has had my heart from Game of Thrones, Bella Ramsey whom I also love from Game of Thrones and the real love of my life Anna Torv, perhaps the hottest woman alive and my bestie from Fringe. All in all the story and the casting was enough to get me to watch it.

My only major deterrent is that I really hate gross things, and by that I mean bugs or creepy crawlies coming out of people's eyes, mouths and/or stomachs…well guess what I signed up for in deciding to watch this show. My biggest physical fear is having a bug crawl in my ear and this tickles that just too closely. That said it is properly gross, fits the storyline and is in no way gratuitous. And as I said the scientific backing is super solid, I loved that the first episode opened up with the scientific exposition.

Storyline wise you know I’m a sucker for a found family and sarcasm so the very little amount of humor used is right up my alley and appropriate for the tone of the show. The dynamic between Bella Ramsey’s character and Anna Torv’s and Pedro Pascal’s is wonderful. Reluctant found family is even better, and they are all forced together out of necessity and it's going to be wonderful to watch this develop.

Now I have not played the game myself, but that's the joy of watching it with my husband and scanning the internet. I've only heard good things about its accuracy. Considering that the creator of the game was involved in the production of the show I would hope that it's accurate to the source material.

I really want to highlight the production in the second episode when our main characters are in the open city and it's all abandoned and grown over. They do a really great job of balancing the beauty with the eerie. Everything looks like a photographer's fantasy but then you remember the circumstances that brought this on and the eerie creeps back in. It was beautiful and brilliant.

So some people know how I binge-watched Game of Thrones in the month before season 8 was released and my father, who had already watched all the seasons listened to me rant about how much I loved Margery and how she was my favorite and how she was best for the iron throne, and then this bitch sits on the chair next to me and watches me watch her die….well my lovely husband who has played this damn video game totally just watched me watch Tess die, with no warning for me despite knowing how much I love Anna Torv….rude.

Overall I am hoping I can stick this show out as it is very well written and extremely captivating but it is rather gross and I am a bit squeamish when it comes to bug-like things. We’ll see how long I can do these recaps…

reviewtvpop culturegamingentertainment

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alexandrea CallaghanWritten by Alexandrea Callaghan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.