Geeks logo

The Invisible - A Movie Review

'The Invisible' is an underrated ghost film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Where did I hear that voice? Who is calling my name?

Released to theaters in 2007, after he is beaten down in the woods, The Invisible is about a teenage boy left in a strange situation. Invisible to the living, Nick has to find a way of communication before time runs out. Unexpectedly, he bonds with someone who he never thought he would ever befriend.

Ghost movies are my favorite genre. Stories come up with creative ways for ghosts to interact with the world. The Invisible is a different take on the ghost world. Besides the moral of never giving up on yourself, the film exhibits the importance of walking in someone else’s shoes.

I have never seen Justin Chatwin in a film. Ready to escape from the slow-moving life he is living to move onto a life of his own, Nick Powell learns a bigger lesson. Playing a ghost isn’t as easy as it looks. It requires one to blend into the scene differently. Taking his time to adjust to this invisible world, he experiences moments in his life that he was blind to.

You never know what battles people are facing. Annie Newton does everything to keep people away, even turning herself into a despicable person. I liked Annie’s arc over the film. The relationship she shares with her little brother is tender. Margarita Levieva studied her character closely, transforming herself from her cocoon, brandishing her true colors.

I know that Nick was the main character, but Annie had more of an impact on the story for me. Nick and Annie are fighting in similar situations. They want to break away, but they are not sure how. Writers did a nice job forming their bond, slowly trusting one another. The Invisible is a lesson in friendship. Instead of shunning someone away, share a conversation. You never know what you’ll learn.

Upon looking into the cast in this movie, I was excited to see Chris Marquette in the listings. If you have not seen Marquette in his tremendous performance in the series Barry, I suggest that you do so immediately. I wish he could have had a bigger part in The Invisible. For example, writers could have explained his motivations better.

It’s been a while since I have seen Marcia Gay Harden in a film. At first, I thought Harden was not expressive enough, but that is all a part of her characters. She demonstrates a very emotional scene in midst of trying to figure out the cause behind her missing son. Every relationship is important, and I like the way the movie established this theme.

Overall the acting was great. Other credits to include are Alex O’Laughlin, Callum Keith Rennie, Michelle Harrison, Ryan Kennedy, Andrew Francis, Serge Houde, Desiree Zurowski, and Alex Farris.

One of my favorite aspects of the ghost world is how everything goes back to normal if the invisible touched an object in the real world. That was original. One of my favorite scenes was Nick destroying his mother’s work office, releasing the steam that he has kept locked up. Subconsciously, this film teaches us that we should not suppress anger.

David S. Goyer succeeded in his focus on the character’s journey. However, there were some details in the story that didn’t make sense. Otherwise, I feel that The Invisible is an underrated movie. I didn’t even know that it was based on a book.

I suggest that you watch The Invisible if you are looking for a new ghost movie. It is a unique film, expressing a message about an unlikely friendship. Look beyond what you see.

review
3

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.