Geeks logo

The Harder They Fall

Why I almost didn't watch, and why I'm happy I did

By Nailah RobinsonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Jonathan Majors is really starting to become the man to watch. After his beautiful ride on Love Craft Country, we find him in The Harder They Fall, a wonderful take on a Western portraying a real person with a fiction narrative. I wasn’t going to watch, but the star power compelled me.

This movie was full of controversy before it came out because of the colorism that was rumored thanks to the German lighter skinned actress Zazie Beetz playing the American darker skinned Stagecoach Mary, Jonathan’s love interest in the movie. Women of the darker skin complexion have struggled to find parts right for them for decades, and this one would have been perfect for Danielle Brooks, Uzo Aduba, or even if she had changed roles with Regina King. I had decided not to watch when this news came out for that reason.

The real Stagecoach Mary and Zazie Beetz playing her

Then I thought about it. I would be playing into that same colorist narrative by not watching, this colorism thing is just a new old way to separate us, when we all know that we're stronger together, and the Black excellence that encompassed the cast deserved my consideration. I am so glad that I changed my mind.

This movie is full of star power. It has Delroy Lindo, Idris Elba, Regina King, LaKeith Stanfield, Edi Gathegi, Deon Cole, Zazie Beetz (believe it or not, I’m actually a fan from the Deadpool movie), Laz Alonso, Damon Wayans Jr, Woody McClain, and last but certainly not least Jonathan Majors as the outlaw hero, all directed by another black man Jeymes Samuel (another one now on my to watch list). These are only a few of my favorite actors that play in this thing. I couldn’t just ignore their work, could I?

After actually watching it, I feel like Zazie definitely did the role proud. The fight scene with Regina King … actually all of her scenes with Regina made me proud to be a woman of color. It made me feel fierce and unstopable. The commanding of the men while maintaining their femininity the way they did was amazing. They were badasses and though they played bad girls on two different flips of a coin, it felt like, this is how you do it. But then again, when is that not Regina King's way (I say this after her role on Watchmen).

Produced by Jay Z, you know the music is on point to carry this fictional story along. However, I do feel like some of it reminds you that this is clearly a work of fiction because they didn’t really talk like that back then. It was definitely historically inaccurate, but it feels like the story could have happened if that makes any sense at all. They even remind you that these were actual people, but the story is not real in the beginning, but it doesn’t completely take you out of the story. I actually believed all of it by the end, and it made me go back and do some more research as I love to do anyway.

You have to watch this movie. The fight scenes are insane. So much that you never would have expected happens. You think it’s going to be just another western, it is not. Not predictable at all. I said that I was only going to watch it one time, and stick to my principles about the colorism thing, but still support the actors who I love at play, but I have completely changed my mind. This might be my favorite movie of the year so far.

The problem with being so focused on the colorist narrative, is that you can easily lose the appreciation for the work as it is. This was amazing. I can’t sing its praises enough, and I would have missed it because I wanted to protest. When it points it out from the very beginning. These are the real names of people who existed, but this is not them. I would have never known that, had I not watched it for myself.

That’s part of the problem of listening to what folks say. I feel like I know better. I’m not usually one to go for what they say I should. I usually check things out for myself especially when it comes to works of entertainment. I always wind up with a very different opinion, and yet I almost let this one get away. I’m happy I went for the ride instead of listening to my first mind. Just saying... perhaps you will be too.

Don’t forget to tip, heart, and share as you should desire to help me keep writing.

movie
2

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.