Geeks logo

The Diaries Of Jane

By Dana Bergstrasser

By Dana BergstrasserPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Part 2:

I think what’s so interesting about this school is the placements they put you in. Once orientation is over they put you in groups based on the forms you fill out at the door. Those forms are just there to ask what your power is, or sometimes powers. You then write your name and walk inside to watch orientation. Once in the groups you show your powers to a school master and they decide where your you fit best. For the first two years of super hero school your in these classes that are designed for your powers. They teach you how to use it, how to control it, and what kind of jobs to expect because of your powers. Because when you are out of here, the mayor gives you the jobs and you go where he says. The more powers the better pay. The last two years you are then placed with other super hero’s and you train to fight each other.

It’s intimidating, standing in this long line of students waiting to find out if i do well here or not. I’m not sure I am ready, but I don’t have a choice. It’s my destiny. Jack stands to my left looking for his girlfriend. The kids around us are all laughing and saying hi to their friends. The front doors of the school keep opening and closing every minute, I feel the metal surrounding the school yell at me. There is so much going on, every mind I can read is just constant agony for my brain. Off in the distance I hear this ringing that won’t stop, it’s getting louder. My hands are sweating, and without noticing what I’m doing the doors of the school start to bend. But I don’t stop, the ringing is to much for me. If I try hard enough the structure of the building could bend with my mind. Maybe the ringing would stop. I put my hands to my ears to shut the noise out, but it won’t stop.

“JANE” my eyes snap open and the doors are pulled off the hinges and right next to my feet. One of the arch ways into the school is bent in half. “Don’t look now babe, the school is looking at you” the other set of doors open and two men walk out. Walking straight towards me. “Jane? Would you come with us?” I hear them say this at the front doors. “They want me to come to them” I tell Jack. “Well don’t let me stop you hunny”. And he pushes me forward a bit. I take the walk of shame, I have been here a whole twenty five minutes and I am already getting detention. Not to mention a sixth power showed itself, I was getting kicked out for sure.

Once inside the school,the man leads me to what I assume would be the principals office. It’s dark down the hallway leading up to it, but the door is bright red like fire. ‘Knock knock’ the man waits for second before saying “Mrs Ashland, we have Jane here for you” then the door opens and a woman sits at the desk. She’s very pretty, with red hair and black eyes. Very intimidating for sure, her skin is pale and she sits with a smile. “Thank you Curt” the man Curt gives me the eyes, as in saying to go inside. Walking in I smell pine cones, the wall as are dark green and there’s wood everywhere. “Jane, please sit” she gestures to a chair in front of her desk. I sit reluctantly, the time it takes for me to sit down she is still holding a smile.

“Am I in trouble for the doors outside?” I ask. Silence, then she laughs. She laughs for a couple minutes before she looks at me. “Oh dear no, this school has had far worse things. No no, the doors will be repaired once all the students are inside”. I just give a small smile back. I try to focus some to read her mind but I can’t hear anything, she’s a mute. “You’re a mute?” I ask. She smiles big, almost like she’s proud. “Yes! I also create fire, which is why my name has Ash in it”. I try to hide my face, she probably caught it too because she rolled her eyes. “Sorry” I whisper into my hands, but she just nods and pulls some papers out of desk.

“Jane I have brought you in my office now so we could talk before school starts. I have a worker who detects powers and she detected you the minute you got off the bus”. Great, I am already the freak show. “ I have seen a lot by being the principal here but never have I seen a girl show up with five powers”. I put my head down, I don’t know why I feel like I’m in trouble. “Well, six now. I have never moved metal before. I think my emotions triggered it”. She now looks at me in awe. “What others can you do?” She says eagerly. “Uhm well, I can fly , create fire like you. I also am a technopath, I can read minds as you found out just now. Also have speed and I can move metal as you saw today”. Her face lights up and she grabs my hands out of excitement. “You are so amazing Jane, now the reason you are here. You’re parents called me not to long ago to inform me about you. The world is different these days and someone like you sticks out. Your father is worried about you, so you will be treated like every student here. When you go to show your powers I must insist you only show three of them. Pick what you want to show but only three”.

I had a feeling this was coming, but I still need to ask. “Why though? What’s wrong with showing all?” She seems to struggle with what to say next. “I know it seems unfair, but all I can say is to trust me. You will be better off Jane”. I have learned not to argue with adults so I shack my head yes and smile. “Good, now your friend should be at the doors now so run along to him. I assume he knows about your powers so please make she he knows to go along with you only having three”. She says it so formal i feel a huge disconnect from her. It must mean she wants me to leave. She continues to write something down and I start to take my leave. Once my hand touches the door handle I feel her drop her mute power and she says.

“There are strange things happening Jane. I feel it, all the teachers do. Our world is about to change and I need you to be on your toes. I’m sure people have told you this, you are special. The faster you accept this, the more I’ll share”. She says this very fast to me, I freeze. “Why me?” I say back.

“You are special”. I want turn back to scream that I am not. But her voice sounds tense. I take my leave and head back to Jack.

superheroes
1

About the Creator

Dana Bergstrasser

writing has always been a passion of mine ❤️ Follow along my journey to being a Author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.