Geeks logo

The diaries of Jane

By Dana Bergstrasser

By Dana BergstrasserPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

My name is Jane Roper. Wait, I don’t think that’s an appropriate diary entry. How about this.

Today is January first. Today is also my sixteenth birthday, and the first day of super hero school. You might be thinking what? Super hero’s? Those are real? Yes they are. And my whole family is or at least has super powers. My whole life has been a crazy movie, you see it’s because I’m different. Mostly everyone has just one super power. But I have five, making me the weirdo out of the family. When I was seven I got the power to be able to light my body on fire. When I was nine, I became a Teconopath. When I turned twelve, I got my speed. At thirteen once I hit puberty, I developed mind reading. And just two weeks ago I got my fifth one. Flying. But I haven’t worked out the kinks yet so it’s confusing still. I don’t know why I have so many, it’s the first I’m my family. I am just hoping that I don’t become the freak at this new school.

“HAPPY BIRTHDAY” the screams that came from the kitchen when I stepped foot off the stairs hurt. Image people yelling and also their minds yelling at you, it’s enough to give anyone a migraine. I put on my best smile and accepted all hugs and happy birthdays. My mom and dad and my two older brothers stand in from of me. Caleb, Alex, and Justin. Caleb has his speed, Alex can speak to animals, and Justin flys. All three are older then me and take jobs from the mayor in town now that they graduated super hero school.

“First day of the first day of your life kid, excited?” My dad says through a smile. “Sure, excited to be called a freak”. I make my way to get some coffee and a muffin my mom made for me. “Just be your self hunny, there isn’t nothing wrong with how many powers you have, it’s been in our history before”. I know my mom is just keeping my head up but, to be fair it hasn’t been seen since the late 1800’s. “Thanks, but I don’t think I’ll be greated by all the other kids who want to be the best”. My mother smirks and pats my back. “Show them who is the best then” she says with a look I can’t place. “Right...well thanks guys I better go”. My family knows I can read minds, and as I walk out the door I hear my father say “Jane, do not show all your powers it’s dangerous”.

My father has always been a suspicious man, so hearing that didn’t shack me. But what shook me is how werid my family acted just now. All stiff and quiet, normally my brothers argue 24/7. As I continued to be lost in my thoughts I hear my name being yelled and when I turned around my best guy friend Jack walks up. “Slow down super hero” he says smirking. “Ready for the big day? I’m sure you are ready to show off your powers”. I roll my eyes at his tone. “My mother wants me to show off, but my father says it’s dangerous and I shouldn’t show them all”. Once Jack is next to me he takes my hand. “Your parents are freaks, you have every right to show off your skills. People will admire you more for it”. He stops me from walking anymore and faces me, “I admire you more for it Jane”. He puts my hair behind my ears, and goes in for a kiss on my cheek. It feels like water on my cheek, his lips make my stomach do flips. He goes for my lips and I take it. We stand in the street kissing, Jack is so handsome I have always wanted him. But I know he is out of bounce. So I pull away from him and back up.

“Amber is still your girlfriend Jack, I can’t do this if you are still with her. It’s not right her”. I see fire in his eyes, I see the anger but it happens so fast and the next moment he looks upset. “I know, I want to break up with her, but I love this Jane. Our secret love is sexy, I dream about you more often this way”. I should be hurt by this, but it pulls me closer to him. I have to resist it though , it’s the right thing to do. “Jack, I can’t I’m sorry. You’re my best friend it should stay that way”. I start walking towards the bus again, he follows me. Nothing ever drives him away, it’s almost like he likes this. He likes to keep me on edge, and I don’t know why but it’s working.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Dana Bergstrasser

writing has always been a passion of mine ❤️ Follow along my journey to being a Author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.