Geeks logo

The Day I Discovered I Was a Slytherin

A Slytherin Pride Article

By Chloe GilholyPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
1
Cover created at Canva.com

I've been a big fan of the Harry Potter series for as long as I can remember. I have read all the books and seen all the films. I've also read and written Harry Potter fan fiction. But I never really considered what my Hogwarts House would be until this year. Well, I wouldn't have a house, I'm a muggle after all. If I did have to be put in one house, then I would say it would be Hufflepuff as people all consider me to be friendly and loyal. I heard about Pottermore and saw people sharing what houses they were put into. I then decided to sign up to Pottermore and try the test.

I did the questions and expected to see the cute little badger come up. The sorting hat experience was so much fun. Oh boy, I couldn't have been any more wrong.

*Drum roll*

Pottermore had sorted me into Slytherin.

I was so shocked at first. I know that a lot of people consider Slytherin to be the evil house. And Harry Potter, the main character of the series, constantly showed his dislike towards the house. His least favourite teacher, Professor Snape: a Slytherin. His rival, Draco Malfoy: a Slytherin. The main antagonist, Lord Voldemort: a Slytherin.

It's true, Slytherins have a lot of bad eggs in their house. But so do a lot of the other houses. Professor Quirrell and Professor Lockhart, for example, are both Ravenclaws. Peter Pettigrew was a Gryffindor. I'm sure there are more examples of bad people being in the other three houses.

Now I love being a Slytherin. The house features some of the most complex and interesting characters in the whole franchise including the controversial Professor Snape, the deranged Bellatrix Lestrange, the redeemed Draco Malfoy and crazy Deloris Umbridge (that bitch you love to hate).

Slytherin's element is water, and I love the water. Swimming is one of my favourite hobbies and sports. I aim to go swimming at least three times a week.

Then there are its famous traits; resourcefulness, cunning, ambition, determination, self-preservation, fraternity, and cleverness. I may not be very cunning or clever, but I know that I have all of these traits within in me in one way or another. I am passionate about writing and I always aim to be the best I can be. I want to be successful and I know that I will be.

Even though Slytherin is my house, I think all of us have a little bit of all four of the Hogwarts houses inside of us. So in a nutshell, finding out that I'm in Slytherin has given me confidence. I've taken other Hogwarts sorting quizzes other than Pottermore, and they've all put me in Slytherin with the exception of one that put me in Hufflepuff.

Also, isn't the colour scheme of green and silver so beautiful? Two of my favourite colours ever. And I wanted to mention Bellossom, my favourite Pokemon, is mainly green - just like my Hogwarts House!

Have some Slytherin pride videos!

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.