Geeks logo

The Book That Called My Name

Seemingly magic.

By Guije Published 3 years ago 6 min read
2

It was one of the darkest times in my life when I went inside a thrift store to apply for a job right off of McHenry Ave. one afternoon. The darkest cloud to ever hang from my head was that year where I was coming off of rejection from my high school crush while simultaneously adjusting to life out in an area completely new to my senses and the only people I know are my family members. Life just hadn’t gone the way I had hoped, my head was too focused on the bright future I had written myself since before graduating high school.

One other thing I can tell you is of my defeated mindset.

I almost got to the point where I didn’t want to do anything but I tried not to let those feelings consume me entirely for there was work to be done. The decision to continue on despite what my mental weather looked like brought me to the thrift store that faithful afternoon. Seemingly within days, I went through the entire process of going to an interview and waiting for the phone call determining my next steps within seconds it seemed. I honestly thought I wasn’t going to get the job based off of ten other applications I’ve submitted before, hearing from those other jobs eventually filling the positions, “we’ve looked at your application and we’ve decided to head into another direction.”

Things were continuing to move quickly when I landed my first day on the job.

It wasn’t until a week later, Friday, I felt strangely optimistic about the day ahead. Coincidentally, it was what Catholics called “Good Friday.” I’ll admit I forget the reasons why.

It started off as any other morning would. I woke up early, got dressed for work, and rode with my mother since her office was right by my job. My head was lost continuing to picture the painful rejection and the missed opportunities for building a social life for myself while I was in my last year. Finally stable at a high school to finish out my year. Those opportunities that could’ve saved me from being what I ultimately was at that time: an antisocial, young adult.

We got to opening the backdoors of the thrift shop where it doubled as a donation center and a storage room as the morning passed fairly quickly.

It was lucky on my part that I was working a short shift where I got off towards the late afternoon, reserving the rest of the day to solace and peace.

Before I could leave towards my mother’s office, I had gone inside the store retracing my steps towards a particular book that caught my attention. Thinking it was the book I was looking for, I followed my heightened sense of intuition leading me to find that same book within the shelf towards the back of the thrift shop. By my luck, it was the book I had been intrigued about reading since I saw a video where Steve Harvey spoke about the book. My friend was reading that same book during the tail end of high school and I couldn’t get it in my mind. I couldn’t afford to purchase it new at that time since I had blown my money on god knows what before getting the job so all I could do was hoping I’d find it somewhere bearing a cheap price tag. And to my astonishment, I did.

There it was in my hands at last, “The Secret.”

I bought it then and there, headed home, and continued to read where I was after eating dinner. I wasn’t able to put the book down for the two weeks I kept reading it over and over again. When coming home from brisk walks in the park nearby, I’d go straight towards a quiet area of the house to pick up where I’ve left off. “Maybe I should apply these principles,” I thought to myself.

It was around this time my uncle had talked to me about the “Law of Attraction” which I honestly thought was some physics term I wasn’t going to understand. As the conversation gotten deeper though, that’s when it clicked in my mind that I had the key to unlocking an “easier” life that I had imagined since the thinking was the results I’ve been getting from busting my fender to no end for a couple bucks at the end of the week were getting tiresome. “There has to be another way,” I’ve repeated to myself.

Sure enough, there was and I began to put it to the test while setting aside my disbelief.

I’ll admit something. As life went on, the more I inadvertently distanced myself from the reading of “The Secret” and its principles surrounding this mystical law.

It did the trick because I’ve gone to learn about manifesting principles from other teachers.

I’ve listened to Bob Proctor’s “You Were Born Rich” in addition to listening to numerous lectures from Neville Goddard. I’ve been tempted to pick up the book to read it again as if I had just gotten it, and perhaps with the list of ambitious goals I’ve got in place, it would be a beneficial thing to switch my thinking to these principles instead of embedding in just the physical senses.

I can recall a few instances where I did intentionally apply the principles from “The Secret” such as most recently when I wrote and submitted one of the pieces of poetry into a contest carrying a smaller scale first place prize of a thousand bucks. I thought “why not?” since it would be an interesting experience to have from winning first place in a contest like that though I wasn’t attached to the end result. I just thought it would be fun to participate in it. Somehow, deep down I felt that my poem was going to get a bunch of attention propelling it to “first place.” I didn’t question it. I just rode with it.

Surprisingly enough, I ended up winning the first place prize which I utilized the extra cash to pay off my newer laptop. It was a great experience to have.

There was another example I just thought of, blurring the line between “intentional” and “unintentional” manifesting, which is shifting my mindset towards a more ideal place.

That dark cloud has dissipated. I’ve decided to quit reliving the past and instead moving forward with optimism by telling myself a new story which is one I may not be used to but it’s bound to express itself within the physical senses. I’ve manifested being at a stable job because where I’m currently employed I’ve been there for the better part of almost two years where my second year anniversary is towards the end of the summer. However, I’ve gotten to the point where I’m ready for something better.

Perhaps the principles I’ve learned from “The Secret” could be useful moving forward.

From the book that called my name.

If you enjoyed this piece of writing, please feel free to leave a tip which could be at a $1 amount or larger and share this piece to your friends and family across other social media platforms.

It would be much appreciated. Thank you!

literature
2

About the Creator

Guije

Hoping to write in a more organized manner apart from my personal journal, documenting my journey and evolution as time goes by, writing it down is my way of sharing it with you, the readers. Personal workspace for my writings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.