Geeks logo

The Baby-Sitters Club - A Netflix Series Review

'The Baby-Sitters Club' is a terrific series for all young audiences.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Good afternoon, The Baby-Sitters Club, how may we assist you?

Based on the book series written by Ann M. Martin, The Baby-Sitters Club revolves around a group of young girls who start their own babysitting service. In the midst of their babysitting adventures, the girls grow and learn, creating a deep friendship.

I have read almost every Baby-Sitters Club book there is. When I first heard that there was going to be a Netflix series I was counting down the days until it aired. My favorite aspect of this series is that it touches on a number of relatable topics. The Baby-Sitters Club is a terrific series for all young audiences.

Sophie Grace, Momona Tamada, Shay Rudolph, Malia Baker, and Xochiti Gomez were remarkable. For young actors, they did an outstanding job connecting to their characters. I enjoyed their interactions. Kristy (Grace) had the best deliveries along with facial expressions. Each girl has a different storyline throughout the series.

One of my favorite aspects of this series is diversity. Recently I purchased some of the graphic novels and there were times when I couldn’t tell the characters apart because they looked too similar. I thought that it was a great idea to have more of a diverse cast to help audiences relate more to the characters.

Casting choices were well picked for the series. Get ready all you Clueless fans. Alicia Silverstone appears as Kristy’s mother. Other credits include Marc Evan Jackson, Sophia Reid-Jackson, Takayo Fischer, Benjamin Goas, Jessica Elaina Eason, and many more.

I especially enjoyed Fischer as Claudia’s grandmother, Mimi. She was very endearing with any of her interactions with Claudia. I was also very impressed with young Reid-Jackson as Karen Brewer who was engrossed in dark fantasies.

Divorce, diabetes, sexuality, growth, and many more topics are discussed. The topic of a transgender child is handled very well. I applaud the episode for a job well done. Some topics may not be suitable for kids of all ages but The Baby-Sitters Club is a noteworthy show for kids to learn, relate to, and grow.

This show is a great example of friendship. Friendships take time. No friendship has to be similar to work. Having different interests is what makes a friendship entertaining so we can learn and adjust. The girls learn from each other.

Creator Rachel Shukert delivered a meaningful show for not just girls but all audiences. I am in my 20s and I binge-watched the entire series so quickly. The Baby-Sitters Club is an endearing series that has heart. Shukert put a modern touch while still making it feel nostalgic. The club land-line phone used for the series is the best prop ever!

There were a few instances where the show felt a little too dramatic. One episode that I have mixed feelings about is Dawn and the Impossible Three. I disliked the new characterization with Natalie Barrett, a single mother who tends to be absent-minded but she is trying her hardest to be a good mother. That storyline could have had a better resolution.

The final two episodes of the series felt out of character in some moments. After thinking about it, I have come to realize that it is an important episode to showcase that we cannot always get what we want. It’s important to live in the moment, make new friendships, and have fun.

I recommended that you watch The Baby-Sitters Club on Netflix. It is well worth a watch. I really hope that this series gets a second season. I was smiling and laughing so many times at the superb nostalgic energy.

tv
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.