Geeks logo

The Allure of Dark Academia

By Luna Ali

By Luna AliPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Allure of Dark Academia
Photo by Jez Timms on Unsplash

We are in an age where almost everyone's identity is linked to a certain aesthetic: 90's, cottage core, emo, grunge, indie, preppy, and many more. I myself have tried out almost every one, to the point where I can no longer choose which one I prefer the most- which pretty much represents my personality. I can't choose a favourite book genre, a favourite movie genre, favourite type of music... it's impossible for me. I'm sure some of you can relate.

However, having been sucked into the "booktok" side of TikTok, I have recently began to dive into the world of Dark Academia. The world of mystery, the ornate libraries filled with more classics than you know what to do with. When I hear dark academia, I imagine the scent of dusty yellowed books in my nostrils. I imagine myself walking in an empty museum, the heels of my shoes echoing around me, appreciating and delving into the culture that surrounds me. I picture the cream heads of Greek statues, cracked veins like vines spreading across the eyes and imperfectly sculpted mouth, leaving myself wondering about what tragic history lies behind each line and curve. I imagine myself standing under an archway, rain drizzling around me, evergreen trees swaying with the force of the wind, inviting me to come and dance with them. Dark Academia- an aesthetic that draws you in with its whispered promise of knowledge and culture.

When imagining this, one can't help but want to immerse themselves entirely into this world of erudition and delicate beauty. I began to read more dark literature, such as Donna Tartt's The Secret History, and Oscar Wilde's The Picture Of Dorian Gray. You may or may not believe that liking these kind of books would make me seem pretentious- but, honestly, I understand the adulation these authors receive. Everything about these novels whispered, "read me, indulge yourself with my passion, my mystery, my dire, heart-breaking words that will make you feel so much it will physically hurt you to put me down. Read me . Plunge yourself into my allegories and subtle conspiracies. Fall in love with me." My exploration of this type of literature only added fuel to my initially sparked love of the Dark Academia aesthetic.

As the mystifying strands of this moon-lit lifestyle began to latch onto me even tighter, I found myself seeking to express my new avocation through my appearance. Having searched and scrolled through endless photos on Pinterest, I started to leave my hair with its natural brunette colour. I tended to reach for my checkered skirts and tailored trousers, my white coloured top and timeless looking jewelry- because that's what the soul of Dark Academia is, right? Timeless. Something that could be appreciated now, as well as a century ago. That is one of the true ways this aesthetic seduces many of those who stumbles upon it, including myself.

Now, don't get me wrong. The pull of this aesthetic does not at all mean you have to change your who style and personality to fit this vibe. I would say that allowing myself to explore this style of living allowed myself to really understand and appreciate different topics, such as: history, politics, and even the arts. The more I researched into Dark Academia, the more my eyes opened to a whole word that I believed didn't interest or fascinate me. The "Allure of Dark Academia" isn't the fashion or idyllic settings- though that may be what initially appeals to you. The true meaning of having a "dark academia vibe", in my opinion, is having a never-ending want to expand your grasp and lore of knowledge and culture, of which there are endless kinds. That is the true allurement of this particular aesthetic.

literature
1

About the Creator

Luna Ali

A lover of everything books, films and music.

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.