Geeks logo

TAHEIM BRYAN

Visionary Filmmaker

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Taheim Byran

Taheim Bryan is not your average filmmaker . He is an entire movement and inspiration to an entire culture 0f black filmmakers . As a Co-Director / Producer / Writer Taheim uses his creative skills to tell stories that impact the black community. Stories that many shy away from , but need to be told . Such as his film Equal Standard, an NYPD Detective is shot by one of his own, benevolent brothers in uniform. Communities are ignited - to march for justice. Gangs put their differences aside - for a united fight, an equal opportunity. “That people not be judged by the color of their skin but for the content of their character.” The movement and unity impacts city society and leads to a Blue Wall intervention within the Police force. White cops lust for change and act on it - by flushing out racism. Not an easy fight. In the end, what was considered impossible, became possible.

The stellar cast includes Ice-T (Executive Producer), Syleena Johnson, Fredro Starr, Treach (Producer), Robert Clohessy, Tobias Truvillion , and Chris Kerson. Co Directed by Brendan Kyle Cochrane. This film is a must see and is gaining tons of mainstream press. Ice-T recently discussed Equal Standard on the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon.

Find out more on Equal Standard at www.equalstandardmovie.com

Vocal readers thanks for joining us and please enjoy my interview with Taheim!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the film industry?

Taheim Bryan:

I've always been a visionary, but didn't always know the full craft of how to do it. I started writing when I was away from home, I did prison time. I use to write in a book format so when I came home I was given this application called final draft and was told if I wanted to get into screenwriting I have to write properly in a professional format. So I studied that and from there the doors just opened up mentally.

Tammy Reese:

What are some hard ships that came along with your film career so far?

Taheim Bryan:

The most difficult part is financial status and getting people to believe in your vision. That's the biggest part and assembling the right chains to get it done. Knowing how to work with entertainers from all over the world, securing the funding and the best for people to bring out your vision. I think that may have been the most difficult part of it.

Taheim Bryan

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career ?

Taheim Bryan:

Just putting boots on the floor and getting it done. That right there, because a lot of times we can doubt ourselves and be discouraged based off so many people saying no or giving broken promises. What I did was give myself a yes, jumped off that high mountain of no's given to me and broken promises and got right into it. The film itself was a beautiful experience. Being able to bring your vision into fruition and make it become reality that is a beautiful thing. I'm blessed and humble I did this from the ground up. I made history no matter, what I did it!

Tammy Reese:

Tell me about your film Equal Standard and how did it come about?

Taheim Bryan:

When I came up with Equal Standard I was working on a project based in 1988. This company was trying to strip me from my credentials telling me just get into the game, I can't have creator. I wrote the whole season, and even shot a sizzle reel and they still was trying to strip it from me. What I did was I took the project away. I said no this isn't going to work for me. When I came home I heard a song by Alvin Garrett, that song motivated me.

Tammy Reese:

While we fight for black lives why do you think it's important for black people to change narratives through storytelling and film?

Taheim Bryan:

For one we have a lot of writers who are writing black movies that are not black. That is apart of some of the biggest issues. Having someone who doesn't fully understand the culture and our walk of life create a narrative to appear that is who we really are. There's nothing like having a black writer write a black story that's relatable. It's not just based off creativity it's also based off experience.

Taheim Bryan

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic changed your career or day to day life?

Taheim Bryan:

The pandemic didn't have any type of affect on me at all. It gave time to reflect, but being blessed to still have the necessities afforded to you. It got people in the industry to really pay close attention to current events and what is really going on in the world. I think the pandemic was really needed. I know the flipside was a lot of lives was taken at the cost of Covid-19. The pandemic gave us time to see the things that are distractions that you really don't know are a distraction until it's actually stripped from you. When it's taken away you can sit back and focus on other things.

Tammy Reese:

What is next for you?

Taheim Bryan:

Movies, and I'm starting a modeling company. I let the mind go on it's own and just apply the energy to it. I'm enjoying life and enjoying the blessings. That's the biggest part is enjoying it. I had so many people doubt me and now they like damn he was able to do it. There's people that look like you who turn their back on you and underestimate you.

Tammy Reese

This entire conversation has been so real and deep. I appreciate all you have shared Taheim. Lastly what is some advice you would give to anyone who would like to become a filmmaker or writer?

Taheim Bryan:

If you are not an experienced writer take the courses and learn how to write. You also want to be a visionary as well. A lot of people can write certain things down , but can't actually bring it into fruition. I also would tell people to protect your character and energy. That will draw the right people around you. Associate yourself with people that you want to be like or have a career orientation you want to practice. Align yourself with experts that will be the best thing, but definitely protect your character and your reputation will take care of itself.

Connect with Taheim Bryan @therealtaheim

Tammy Reese

Filmmaker/Actress/Journalist

Visionary Minds Public Relations and Media

Vocal Media

NYWIFT

Instagram @tammyreesemedia

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.