Geeks logo

Superheroes aren't Everything- (There are other Comics)

Comics for All!

By Katie L. Oswald (BookDragon)Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Within the last couple of years, I have started to get into comics. Comics are great, and I have learned that there is something for everyone. I know what you’re thinking, well I mean yea they’re fine but I’m not that into superheroes, I’ll just stick with books. What with all the movies and tv shows superheroes have flown into mainstream entertainment and they are dragging their paper counterparts along with them. Which is a good thing. Really. Being a nerd is more in the vogue then it has ever been.

Just to be clear there is nothing wrong with loving superheroes because they are awesome sauce. Except for maybe the Flash… I mean super speed, how broken is that? Plus, its inconsistent Flash can run around the world in no time, but he can’t stop someone from getting shot a block away? And don’t even get me started about the time travel. Errr… sorry. For you Flash fans out there, you’re totally entitled to your opinion also Flash has one thing going for him. He’s got a great costume, it’s flashy! See what I did there?

Where was I? Oh right. So, if you don’t want to read about superheroes, or if you want to read something other than superheroes there are some great options out there for you. Personally, I don’t read much in the way of superheroes. My friends at my local comic bookstore, The Comic Book Clubhouse, are slowly changing my tastes and gently prodding me into certain superhero books. I am not complaining either. I have enjoyed every foray I have made into that genre. However, I mostly read other things.

I read a little of everything and I ask the comic bookstore owner all the time for recommendations. That guy knows his stuff- tip to those of you out there, people that work at comic book stores read comics so ask them if you need some suggestions. Yes, I read a bit of everything but, I tend to stray to the weird. Probably because I am a weirdo, and well, we tend to flock together. Here are a few of my recent favorites, just to give people an idea of what is out there.

1. Undiscovered Country, written by Scott Snyder & Charles Soule and art by Giuseppe Camuncoli & Daniele Orlandini, is both post-apocalyptic, and not post-apocalyptic at the same time. Which is pretty cool when you think about it. America sealed itself off and let the rest of the world move on without them. Suddenly the people in the rest of the world receive a message and request people to come to the U.S. because they have an antidote for a disease that is ravaging the world. However, no one has been into America for thirty years and no one knows what to expect… but what they find is beyond imagination. Join the characters in their post-apocalyptic journey as they try to unravel the mystery that America has become. Fair warning, it gets weird, weird but amazing. I only have one negative thing to say about Undiscovered Country- it only comes out once a month, waiting is agony.

2. Once and Future is written by Kieron Gillen, with art by Dan Mora. This story is fun! I enjoy reading it and am excited with every issue. This comic is a combination between Indiana Jones and Arthurian legends with a little Buffy the Vampire Slayer thrown in. Follow a normal nice guy and his tough grandmother as they try to keep the supernatural in check and stop others from trying to bring back King Arthur. It’s enjoyable romp that covers multiple mythologies while being fun to read at the same time.

3. Scout’s Honor, written by David Pepose with art by Luca Casalanguida, is a post-apocalyptic tale about the waste land the world has become and men that are rising to the challenge to protect. These scouts are ultimate warriors who follow a code and have the utmost honor. Except that there are twists and turns and not everything is as it seems, are the scouts so honorable? Even the main character, a gifted scout, has some secrets that if revealed could change everything. I can’t wait to see where this story goes.

4. Family Tree written by Jeff Lemire with art by Phil Hester is an amazing tale that follows a young girl, Meg, that is turning into a tree. Yes, it is as odd as it sounds, but the story is phenomenal. As her family scrambles to find a cure the word tries their best to separate them and destroy the girl. There are many factions, and they all have their own motives. With the help of her crazy grandfather Meg and her family go on a wild adventure in search of a cure.

5. An Unkindness of Ravens, written by Dan Panosian with art by Marianna Ignazzi is a mysterious tale about the secret survivors of the Salem witch trials. Follow the plucky main character Wilma as she moves to a new town and finds herself smack dab is the middle of a mystery. It turns out she isn’t as much as a stranger as she first thought. First, she finds that she looks just like a girl that disappeared and then, Wilma finds herself in the middle of two factions of Salem survivors with a great deal of power and a decision to make. I am thoroughly enjoying following Wilma on this strange journey, if you enjoy high school style mysteries with a lot of spunk this one is a good one. Also, the title is cool- an unkindness is the name of a group of ravens.

If I listed everything I was reading/ things I have read that did not have superheroes in it, we would be here a very long time. This is just an example of a few comics that I love. There is a little something for everything at the comic bookstore. Go to your local comic store and find your next adventure!!

Twitter: KLO_BookDragon

comics
Like

About the Creator

Katie L. Oswald (BookDragon)

I am not a book worm, I am a book dragon. I love comics, books, photography and all things creative. I have always been drawn to the stories of life and have been writing for as long as I can remember. Twitter: @BookDragonklo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.