Geeks logo

'Storm and Silence'

Book Review

By Ziora ZoraPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Storm and Silence (Book Review)

Feminism, business mogul, romantic-comedy including glances of historical values? Powerful and richest man? Revenges? Sarcastic? Funny Mohammedan Bodyguard? Then, Storm and Silence to the rescue.

I have finished reading a wonderful book for the eighth time! Storm and Silence is a fiction book by Robert Thier that includes romance between a chauvinistic alpha businessman with a feminist, unladylike woman who dressed as a man to gain independent. Oh, money and gunfights, of course.

Synopsis

"It is your choice," he said, stepping so close to me that our lips were almost touching. "Either do what I say, or get another job."

My heart stood still as I gazed up into his deep, dark, dangerous eyes...

In a world where women's only role in life is to sit at home and look pretty, Lilly is determined to fight her freedom. There's only one problem: a powerful man blocking way.

Spoiler alert!

Lilian Linton is a feminist woman who dressed as a man to work with Mr. Rikkard Ambrose, the most powerful and richest man in Europe. Upon her adventures working with her cheapskate boss, she dressed as a man, went to the Upper East Side to steal back Mr. Ambrose's most important file from his archenemy, Lord Dalgliesh, and breaking society protocols by drinking beer, which is seems to be unfit for gentle bred lady and involves in a gunfight. AS A LADY!

Read as our protagonist, Miss Lilian Linton, a.k.a Mr. Linton, developed into a more independent woman and Mr. Ambrose, defeating his enemies and striving to be even more powerful and rich than the men in the world. He's probably intending to dominate the world. Or even dominates her hearts.

What I think about the book?

It is one of the best book I've read throughout my teenage phase. The characters are humorous, and the development of their lives are interesting. It inspires me to be even more striving and independent in my life, as I eventually kept Mr. Ambrose's productive and efficient quotes into my daily basis. One of my favorite part was when Mr. Ambrose had eventually given up from trying to fire and dismiss Miss Linton as his secretary. The persistent and hardworking qualities showed by Miss Linton are amazingly inspiring, especially to the young generation like me. I started reading the book after I had finished my first semester examination in University, and completed the book just after three days. At the end of my holiday, I had improved my vocabulary and personality to be a better person. Or should I say, more time efficient and independent like Lilian Linton did. What is even more interesting is the male characters presented in the book. Mr. Rikkard Ambrose, the powerful and richest man in England, his amazingly loyal bodyguard, Karim, and of course the villain, which is the sly peer realm of England. Additional characters, such as Captain Carter and Uncle Bufford, add more funny and unique qualities to the plot.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone with a sense of humor and to those who love the historical genre. Don't read this book if you don't like to laugh because there are so many funny events. Some of this book even portrayed the tragic story of Romeo and Juliet in more comedic and non-tragic way. This novel peeked into the head and mind of a Victorian womn who stepa beyond the social norms, gaining her freedoms and rights, just in a funnier way. Her persistence and unique character colored the mysterious and dull life of the most powerful and richest, yet loneliest man in Britain. If you want to read about the independent mischievous woman and his mysterious powerful and rich boss, then this is a book for you.

Rating: 9/10

PS: This book could be found in Wattpad apps, Radish apps, or Amazon.

WARNING: Explicit comedic feminism and oblivious individual ahead. Proceed with caution, suitable playlists, something to drink or eat (beware of choking), and sufficient amount of cellphone energy.

review
Like

About the Creator

Ziora Zora

Dedicated to those who wonders if I'm writing about them...'Maybe'

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.