Geeks logo

Stevie T, youtuber for the thirty-somethings

Encouragement through the guitar

By Judith JaschaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

There are several youtubers that I love watching. There is a channel for every topic you could think of. Depending on the mood I am in at the time, I can always find a channel that lets me watch whatever I feel like. However, there is one youtuber that stands out to me above the rest. He’s one that I can watch and always find myself laughing with, despite how I may be feeling. But more than that, I can relate to him on a more personal level. This incredible youtuber is Steve Terreberry, better known as Stevie T.

Steve Terreberry is a 33 year old Canadian youtuber who has a comedy and music channel. He started his channel in 2008, and currently has over two million subscribers. He does several different types of videos. He reviews peoples’ performances and corrects as needed. He does his own spoofs on popular songs. He does comedy skits, and videos that take a deeper look at song lyrics and performers to smash conspiracy theories. Occasionally, he will have a guest on his videos, but generally, he plays all the roles himself. One of his characters is a girl who sometimes is his girlfriend, other times she’s his sister. He’s also had his nephew on whenever a baby is needed.

Although he can be critical to the music industry, he does it in a reasonable and entertaining way. He never comes off as overly harsh, and if he finds himself wrong, he quickly apologizes. His guitar riffs are top notch, and there have been many requests for him to record an album, but he hasn’t yet. It has been talk of him going on tour with the group DragonForce, but beyond that he chooses to not perform live, as he feels uncomfortable in doing so.

Although these videos are awesome, my favorites are the ones that touch on a more personal note. He has done videos with his mom. She is very supportive of her son’s career and is very involved with the fans. She will often comment in the comment section to them or Steve himself. He’s single, choosing to focus on his career for the time being.

In a couple of videos, he answered fan questions. Watching these gave me a better insight of who he was beyond the character that he plays. That solidified his place as my favorite youtuber, as I could relate so well to him. I love that he is my age. It seems that the majority of popular youtubers are younger teenagers or in their twenties. It shows that people who are a little older can be just as successful if they put in the hard work.

He has been making videos since the beginning, but he still doesn’t take it so seriously. He does what he believes me, and doesn’t change to conform to what is trending or what people think he should be. He has spoken about his social anxiety and how it has impacted his life and channel. He’s talked about his discomfort on social media and the irony in it, since that is basically his whole job. He is clearly hurt by his critics’ comments, but he fights it with humor.

I’ve always been really shy myself. I suffer with social anxiety where I will panic in large crowds. I’m now trying to combat it through my writing, and hopefully, someday, my own youtube channel. There are many times when I question myself and my ability to do so. It helps to see someone like Stevie T who has overcome similar obstacles, and is thriving. Although this channel can be offensive to those who are very politically correct, it is lighthearted, inspirational, and hilarious. I hope Stevie T continues to thrive, and I look forward to seeing where he goes from here.

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Judith Jascha

Mom, sister, teacher, student, writer. I love to touch on all areas as I like to expose myself to new things. My goal is to use my experience to entertain and educate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.