Geeks logo

Starting My First Podcast Wasn't What I Thought It Would Be

My path to podcasting

By Samantha ParrishPublished 3 years ago 14 min read
Like

This year I started my podcast show, Parrish Passages Podcast.

Back in December 2020, before the new year began I made a promise to myself that I was gonna start my podcast show. When the new year came around it was the part of my 2021 plans and I made sure that I worked that entire month to get it going. I spent a whole month getting it done, And here it is-

A combination of where my podcast is at. Originating at Buzzsprout & carried over to Apple Podcasts

This was a process that I didn't expect during my prep month in January. I hit many roadblocks, and had to educate myself on this. It was Even though it's advertised by many as "Start your podcast today! It's so easy!" Well, there are some people like me that need the planning and scouting to prepare to do this right. This was something I wanted to do right and I was both prepared and unprepared for starting this new entertainment venture out as a podcaster. As someone who has been creating content in different ways, taking on the task as a podcaster was a whole different game then what I was used to doing in creating content. I had to be willing to learn how this game works.

The beginning

There was a debate I had with myself about taking this route as a creator to be a podcaster. After I got my first step in the world of podcasting when I got my guest spot on All Things Writing with Bryan Nowak. After that episode, I officially had it on my list that I was going to make a podcast show. The casual platform appealed to me to have this entertainment and educational venue which is something I dearly missed when I did YouTube videos.

In my YouTube days, I struggled with getting my material out for how long it took to record and edit a video, with podcasting, all I saw it as was just editing the audio. It would be a faster process then a YouTube video and it wouldn't conflict with my writing schedule to continue my sequel to my first book.

After I decided to make my podcast show, I was lost, I had no clue what to do at all. My strive in mind for the podcast was to have it available on Apple podcasts, and I had no idea how to do that, there is no upload button on Apple podcasts. I was confused about how I could get there when there was no information on how to get there. A couple times I got very overwhelmed, this was something I wanted to do and knew I could do it.

The only way to move forward is to go back, so I went back to where it all began, when I starred on the Bryan Nowak podcast "All Things Writing". I checked to see where he uploaded from and it was Buzzsprout. Now I had some semblance of where to start and venture from there.

But there were several realistic things I had to keep in mind.

  1. It'll take a while for people to see the show
  2. I won't be making any money off of it yet so I can't spend too much time on various episodes
  3. Make the balance between marketing and self-entertainment
  4. Keep it on the side so I can balance my work out

When I kept those realistic ideas in mind, it did set me straight to continue this, but not be depressed if it didn't work out. The way I create anything from books to videos to articles is having the realism that I can't control the outcome and I can accept the defeat knowing I tried or be pleasantly surprised that it worked out. It's a key element in being a creator.

What I learned

For a podcast to be produced and set up there is a lot of work. My hypothesis was way off, I thought it was just a microphone and upload to an app, which is both there and not there yet at the same time.

From my research I gathered that the main core elements of making a podcast is this : There has to have a small space, a good microphone, and a working computer. The information provided had different levels for people to start out at to give the relief if they didn't have the equipment. The first level that was explained was to just use apple earpods and a computer was effective. I read that any equipment can work, but it's hard to mold that to accommodate the surroundings.

On Instagram and TikTok, I noticed the main advertisement for the podcast outlets was , "You Can do a podcast for free". I did try to see about doing my podcast on some of the apps that were advertised. I heavily debated going that route to make my life easier from buying the equipment and knowing I could work off of my phone. I read the reviews on the apps that there were time restrictions. So the apps didn't have the accommodations that I needed, I had to scrap that idea.

I mentioned that Buzzsprout was the lucky winner to go with to start my podcast show. After all the other places I went to, Buzzsprout provided the ability to share the show on multiple apps and it has everything for easy access, other sites I couldn't even navigate. However, everything has a price, I have to pay $12 a month to keep my episodes up there.

Originally I was baffled that there was a 90 time limit to keeping my episodes up, after 90 days the episodes would be deleted. I didn't understand, because I read that it was free, why do I have to pay to keep my episodes up? I had to think about it a while about this discovery that changed my process for this podcast. I had to keep in mind that it's for the creators, there are some different creators that need more time availability for episodes or extra accommodations. The upgrade to pay $12 a month would be worth the money considering I get an extra hour as well as some extra accommodation options. When I read what was offered, it was fair and made sense. Going onto any kind of podcast form, or even anything in media creation, even though it does say it's free, one way or another there has to be a cost so these outlets can make an income too while providing a comfortable space for creators. I have been given an opportunity to be able to show my story and present a show of my own creation through this outlet that could lead to other roads, so I can’t find fault with some thing that is doing the best to help other creators out.

However, I did read in my process for making my account that there was an open option for podcasters that wanted to spread their show on other outlets. It was nice to read that there wasn't a contract constriction for creators to just use one outlet. I could have the option to spread my show on other podcast sites.

Creating My Show

I named it Parrish passages podcast, I decided to go with the name that people would know because of the fact that it’s affiliated with my social media names and my last name.

I decided to be a bit of a wild card and not have my show focused on one criteria. There are shows that just focus on murder mysteries or self-help or anything depending on the idea someone has. I opted to have my show be everything. I talk about writing, I talk about various movies, I talk about TV shows, I talk about books. I wanted my show to be something that someone could find a specific episode that would intrigue them. That's the way I choose what I want to watch or listen to is just finding an episode that catches my eye. There could be listeners to my show that just want to listen to my episodes about movies or ones that want to know my take on how I became a writer so they could better themselves as writers. It's better to have a wider spectrum then limiting to just one idea, besides, it's my show, I'll do what I want.

The Process and Prices

I cleaned out my closet, because it was virtually the smallest space I could work with. I set up my laptop on some filing cabinets, and set up my blue snowball microphone. I had everything prepared, but I wasn't there yet, not even half-way there yet.

I started my account with Buzzsprout, I wrote down some script ideas and took note about how to make the podcast episode organized and catchy. I tried to see what I could do with my own equipment. The apple earpods did not work, So I tried to use my blue snowball microphone, that also did not work. the quality was too scratchy and I felt like I was making audio for a horror movie then a podcast show.

I had to bite the bullet and purchase a mike made for podcasting, this was proving to be more of a costly endeavor then I realized. But it had to be done if I wanted to do this right.

But besides the equipment there was something else in mind that I had to do that was also a work in progress was getting a good picture made for my show. I commissioned to one of my friends that has a very intriguing style, and I knew would be suited to what I wanted my show to be. I paid her $50 to do a media detailed digital piece for the show. It was money well spent to get a photo for the exact look I desired for a media based piece.

Cover art by Emily Whitacre (https://teenytinycoffeebean.carrd.co/)

Here's the math of what was spent, $42 for a microphone, and $50 for a commissioned art piece. $92 total, not what I expected to spend for something I thought was going to spending, but professionalism comes with a price. I'm glad that I didn't just try to will my own equipment to work and suffer with the scratchy sound, I'm glad I didn't try to create my own photo because the photo my friend made is truly a work of art.

But that $92 isn't entirely the final price for what I had to pay for considering what I mentioned in the previous point about how I have to pay $12 a month to keep my episodes up. Going into any venture, whether it's podcasting, web series, there are going to be separate bills for investments and monthly payments.

It was a hell of a process trying to figure out the programs that were a part of the website. I’ve worked with audio to be enhanced and reduce the noise, but only on movie makers. This was a whole new ballgame to be able to figure out the specific portion of editing. There were moments I had to just get up and walk away from my computer because I was so frustrated because I’m not that tech savvy. I unfortunately have the same mentality as Veruca Salt and I want it now, I want to be able to just figure it out within the snap of a finger. I wanted everything done within the day but realistically this took me a whole month of January, and I had to be patient.

I sat and listened to all of the tutorial videos so I wouldn't get stubborn and figure it out without looking at directions. If I was going to do this, I had to do it right. I tinkered around with my new microphone for podcasting. I had my material typed up, I got the exact music I wanted with the free licensing. I got all my pieces together to begin my venture as a podcaster.

The day I recorded my Podcast

Days before I recorded my podcast, I got everything ready, I had my introductory opening, I had my notes, I had on a fun outfit to help give me some self-esteem to get this chapter started. But the only thing that wasn't ready was me.

I was pacing around, making stressed breaths. I went to sit on my tiny uncomfortable stool, and I pressed record to start my episode, then I had to restart my episode about seven times due to my nerves. Even though it's just me in my closet with no reason to be wracked with nerves, I couldn't shake the stress of wanting this to be good.

I tried to make it as clear to the point while also being casual about it.

If you chose to listen to this (yes it is too soft, you'll have to turn up the volume, the sound is still a struggle to get it right). I'm very nervous and I talked way too fast. But, I did make sure that my personality showed, I made sure to put my sense of humor in there and I was honest throughout the first episode about my nerves.

After editing the episode, I went out and got myself some celebratory Taco Bell, and within a couple days I had my first episode edited and uploaded.

There was an excitement to having my podcast uploaded, I'm glad that I went through despite my frustrations I had. It was exhilarating to finally have an outlet that I could express myself, and cover the topics that I've been anticipating to talk about. I was already typing away at future episodes to create.

After publishing my first podcast

Now from the get-go I mentioned that I wanted my podcast on apple podcasts, I had no idea how to do that. It wasn't until I went to the section Directories on Buzzsprout, that's where I found the apps to spread the podcast app. There was Apple, Spotify, Google Music, Amazon music, etc. the main media basics.

Within a couple days I got an email that the podcast was accepted to Apple. I immediately went to my podcast app and found my show. I finally achieved what I wanted for my show to be on that app.

After the week of submitting my podcast show I got an email from Buzzsprout saying that my first episode had 10 downloads. I was very surprised to see that I got 10, I thought I wasn’t gonna get anything for at least a couple of weeks because I was just new to the game.

Later on after completing my second episode about dark humor, There was another increase of listening . It was great to see that there was an influx because I wasn’t expecting to get 25 lessons I anticipated I would get about maybe 2 to 5 and then maybe eventually build up but it was a pleasant surprise to see a steady strive of a beginning in this venture.

I will admit that it's still a struggle to get the tech down, I'm still having trouble with sound compression, so most of my episodes require the volume turned up. I have a problem where I talk too fast so I've been catching myself in moments I talk too fast. I'll be sure to repeat what I said as slow and enunciate my sentences better. I'll get there eventually, if this does continue to prosper and I gather an audience then I'll invest in a better microphone, set up a Patreon, and I'll figure out the sound issues.

I've never been on to go with the flow of society, I'm usually the one that hangs back and avoids the mainstream media. But I pushed myself to start a new chapter to continue to prosper on my path as the creator I am and will continue to be.

Pieces of Advice

- You can start out on any site for podcasting, but that doesn't mean your tied down to this specific site, because it's your domain and brand, there are some podcast places that are accommodating to have your show on multiple outlets so don't sell yourself short on just one place. The sites have options if you have an existing show and just want to add it to the website to further your chances for your show to be found. Buzzsprout has that option available.

-There will be times that you will have to redo very long episodes. If you want it done, then you want it done right. Sometimes that means scrapping material, and redoing scripts to get it to the quality and quantity that you want. I had to do that with my second episode where I had to remove a whole hour worth of material because I made the decision to not settle for the material I didn’t have any faith in.

-Before you submit your podcast to other apps please be sure that your information on the base of your operations for your show is the exact information you want. Because it will be copied and pasted as is on to the other media outlets. When I checked on what the podcast page looked like for my show, I went to look at the information and my first name is present, but my last name is not present. I had completely forgot to put my last name on there because I was so focused on the main information for people to read. You can fix it, it just might take a couple of days for it to transfer over into your other outlets that you have spread your podcast show to.

-Oh, and it's your show, do what you want

You can find me @parrishpassages on Instagram for updates about my podcast episodes or questions you have to make your mark with podcasting.

Take care creators!

social media
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.