Geeks logo

Robyn Hood Annual 2020

Zenescope Entertainment

By Steven LeitmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Robyn Hood Annual 2020

Zenescope Entertainment 2020

Story by Dave Franchini & Lou Iovino

Written by Lou Iovina

Illustrated by Babisu Kourtis

Coloured by Juan Manuel Rodriguez

Lettered by Taylor Esposito of Ghost Glyph Studio

Letter Assists by Rieanna Bates

A year ago, Robyn Hood’s best friend, Marian Quin, suffered a horrible loss. In order to save our world, Marian had to make a hard sacrifice. She sent her wife, Sam, to an unknown fate across the universe, to a world torn apart by gigantic hideous monsters once only imagined in nightmares. But now, she has a found a way to get there, and with the help of Robyn she hopes to save Sam from the savage world she was banished to.

Aw man what a tease! Marian and Sam are back but for how long remains to be see. It does an old man’s heart good to see the two of them once again fighting side by side, Marian and Robyn that is, in a situation that feels so comfortably familiar. I will say this i wish we’d see a lot of more scenes like this one in the future. Also it is kind of nice to see that different universes and dimensions are in play here that have yet to be explored or are a part that Highborne legacy. I like the way that this opens up a plethora of new avenues for storytelling and that Robyn herself now has the capability to become a player in the cosmic scheme of things. Now ain’t that a kick in the rubber parts?

I am a fan of the way that this is being told. The story & plot development we see through how the sequence of events unfold as well as how the reader learns information is presented extremely well. I love that there are plenty of what the blank moments scattered throughout the book as well. The character development that we see is sensational and while I love seeing them pick up where they left off I still feel like there should be some unresolved animosity between them. Maybe that’s just me who knows. The pacing is fantastic and as it takes us through the pages revealing the twists & turns along the way it creates a really nice reading experience.

With the way that this is being structured and how we see this being told I’m surprised this is an annual and not fitted into a single issue. I feel like there are a lot of pages with large panels when it could be condensed. Again maybe this is just me but I gotta call em like I see em.

I am a huge fan of the work we see on the interiors here. The linework is utterly fantastic and how we see the varying eights being utilised to create the detail work we see is amazing. With the creativity and imagination on display as well as the detail work that we see this is some first class work. I’d like to see more backgrounds being utilised but then again when don’t I? The utilisation of the page layouts and how we see the angles and perspective in the panels show a talented eye for storytelling. The colour work is gorgeous and to see the various hues and tones within the colours being utilised to create the shading, highlights and shadow work is beautifully rendered.

What we see here is great and while I cannot wait to see where this is going to take Robyn next I do know that it’s going to be one hell of an exciting ride. I’m still waiting to see if Robyn finally has a team to turn to or if she’s going to forever have to go it alone, still regardless so long as she finds herself in trouble I’ll be happy.

comics
Like

About the Creator

Steven Leitman

Just me talking about the comics I enjoy reading, ones that you might not know exist and spotlighting the indie creators that excite me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.