Geeks logo

Review: The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green

Spoilers ahead in this review of a book of reviews...

By Jaci SchreckengostPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Review: The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green
Photo by Garret Silver on Unsplash

This is a review of The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green.

Please note, there are spoilers below!

First thoughts

I absolutely adore John Green and his previous books (especially Turtles All the Way Down), so I expected to like this book. Even with that expectation, it blew me away.

So, what’s this book even about?

Like most of my favorite books, this book is about a lot. It's about life, death, existential crises, mental health, community, songs, places we can never go, and so much more.

What this book is about heavily depends on where you're at in the reading process. At the beginning, I think I would have said community. In the middle, I would have said realizations and calling yourself on your own bullshit (we all have it). In other spots, I would have said hope or anxiety or dreams. At the end of the book, I've decided it's about everything.

Keep an eye out for these quotes

As always, we'd be here all day if I shared all of my favorites. So, here are 3 quotes to look out for:

  • “To fall in love with the world isn’t to ignore or overlook suffering, both human or otherwise. For me anyway, to fall in love with the world is to look up at the night sky and feel your mind swim before the beauty and the distance of the stars. It is to hold your children while they cry and watch the sycamore trees leaf out in June. When my breastbone starts to hurt, and my throat tightens and tears well in my eyes, I want to look away from feeling. I want to deflect with irony or anything else that will keep me from feeling directly. We all know how loving ends. But I want to fall in love with the world anyway, to let it crack me open. I want to feel what there is to feel while I am here."
  • “For me, finding hope is not some philosophical exercise or sentimental notion; it is a prerequisite for my survival.”
  • “You can’t see the future coming—not the terrors, for sure, but you also can’t see the wonders that are coming, the moments of light-soaked joy that await each of us.”

Listen to this

John Green based this book on his podcast by the same name, The Anthropocene Reviewed. While new episodes aren't created anymore, it's great to go back and listen to the older episodes. You may find some overlap with the book, but it feels like a new experience.

If you'd like to stick to something related to Green, then you can also check out Dear Hank and John. Each week, they answer listeners' questions and provide (sometimes serious, sometimes dubious) answers.

Final thoughts

This book takes you everywhere. Even places you can't really go (cue the "Lascaux Cave Paintings" chapter). I was also a big fan of the "Diet Dr. Pepper" chapter; even though I drink regular Dr. Pepper, I loved it. (Seriously, I told you this book is about everything.)

I think my favorite section is when he gives his first five-star review. Reiterating Green's point in this chapter, life is too short for acting too cool for five-star reviews and doing things you love, even when other people give them a measly one or two stars. Their stars have nothing to do with yours; enjoy your stars while you've got them.

A close second favorite is the chapter "Googling Strangers," which made me sob. I thought it would be a light-hearted listen on my drive, but I showed up to my destination with puffy, red eyes. It broke my heart and put it (mostly) back together.

After that chapter, the rest of the book feels like recovery. Always on edge fearing it's going to turn back, but, somehow, we make it out. We're a little shaky, but we're here.

I give The Anthropocene Reviewed 5 stars.

...and not just because I wanted to write that.

Content warning: Please note...

Please note: this book covers some heavy topics. Green dives into parts of his life that he's never directly written about before, and some of them are heavy. Please be prepared for life, death, mental health issues, and more.

___________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it.

Looking for more book recommendations? Subscribe to my newsletter, where I'll send you monthly must-reads, writing prompts, and more.

Not ready for the commitment? No worries — I suggest checking out Review: Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein for another book review or Sweet Memories, my own short piece of fiction.

If you'd like to follow along, you can find me at @JaciSchreckengost and @JaciReads, if you only want book content.

Make sure to check back soon for more books I've read (spoiler: I only review books I love), fiction, poems, and whatever I find myself writing next.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jaci Schreckengost

Hey there, I'm Jaci Schreckengost.

Here are some pieces of my writing. They're all drafts; some on revision one, some on revision ninety.

You can see more of my work at jacischreckengost.com. I'm also on Instagram @JaciSchreckengost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.