Geeks logo

Return to Me

Loving Deeply

By Nostalgic CinefilePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Minnie Driver and David Duchovny star in the romantic comedy "Return to Me."

Springtime is easily my favorite season. With an exception for the unbearable allergies, it is filled with beautiful colors, early and late sunlight, and most importantly a craving for romantic movies. For this reason I knew I had to write a post about love before Spring concluded.

Synopsis

Return to Me is a romantic comedy that follows a shy woman,Grace, as she navigates the dating world.She also has a weak heart, which is a major part of her insecurities as a single woman. Simultaneously David Duchovny's character, Bob, finds himself newly single and is also trying to survive blind dates set up by his Don Juan friend Charlie, played by David Allen Grier.

What to Look Out For

This movie is simple, underrated, and perfectly subtle. The impagery throughout the film is rooted in nature. The garden in the courtyard of Grace's family restaurant is filled to the brim with big blooms. The zoo, where Bob works, is a major setting as Bob can hardly tolerate the silence of his home any longer. From Gorillas to Dogs, tight streetcorners to rooftops in Italy the inclusion of nature and urbanscapes keeps the air of passion strong.

The movie's use of Italian-American musicians, Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra, tie directly to the heritage of Grace and her family. We are constantly reminded that Grace is searching for a home and seeks that in her family's homeland. The only change to this dream happens when she finds a home in Bob-- sigh. The complex way in which all the relationships are portrayed have a jagged edge that is laced in love. Bonnie Hunt and Jim Belushi's characters have a wild, messy, but sexual marriage that seems strange and sweet. Grace's father and family friends never leave, constantly complain and argue, but also keep trying to help Grace find love and follow her heart. The way in which relationships are built and last in this show stuck with me even to this day.

What Made it Special to Me?

I was around 10 when I first watched this movie. You will probably quickly notice a trend as I write more posts, and that is that I watched most romantic movies on my parents' bed on Saturdays while I folded the family's laundry. My mom would play these romantic movies while she cleaned and I was always looking for something to distract me from the chores.

Ten year old me saw this movie and instantly figured this is what love is supposed to be like. This movie was true romance. The movie also taught me all the Italian-American classic songs that would play at Olive Garden.

Small tangent: I would ask to sit at the bar at Olive Garden. The hostess, who was always a 20-something girl who thought I was too die for, would oblige me. I would then order a pink lemonade in a cocktail glass and would sing Frank Sinatra much too loudly for a restaurant. The hostess would just beam at me. Unfortunately, this created an attention-seeking monster diva and I have not been fixed since.

Back to the movie. The most important lesson I learned from this movie was that if someone is in love with you; you should let them see all of who you are. Your scars, your smile, your heart all deserved to be seen and loved. The characters surrounding Grace love each other in their own messy, silly, ways including their complaints and flaws. Grace finds love when she opens up and shows her true self. This is the love we all deserve to find or have. Whether that be with our family, friends, or partners. For this reason, Return to Me is a movie I still watch and love.

Till next time,

L. Gabriella

movie
Like

About the Creator

Nostalgic Cinefile

Reliving my childhood through the movies that left an impact. From the kitschy and campy to the nuanced and serious, these are my experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.