Geeks logo

Remember When South Park Wrote An Episode About Us?

Review of South Park’s Episode: You’re Not Yelping

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Yeah, I know it’s based on Yelp and was made before Vocal’s creation, but a lot of it reminds me so much of the culture of influencers today. This is the episode where Eric Cartman considers himself to be a top online critic for the website, Yelp! However, so does the majority of the South Park population. The way they get so absorbed and obsessed with writing their reviews, believing that thousands upon thousands are counting on their content makes me think South Park has slipped out of satire and represented modern life.

Whilst I never use the site Yelp, myself, from what I can see in this episode, it makes me think of Amazon and Goodread reviews. I actually thought Yelp was a made-up site until I read on the episode’s trivia page that some new reporters had mistakenly said that Yelp was suing South Park. How people feel superior after leaving reviews. It’s funny how they get bad reviews over little things that get overaggagerated. At first I didn’t thnk Yelp was a real website.

This is one of the beautiful and more ironic things about South Park, the generations being raised by South Park are the ones that seem to be finding offence in everything. At the same time, South Park represents these modern tropes so wonderful and over-the-top that I sometimes forget that it is a cartoon show. We’ve seen many classic shows and films get cancelled, such as Little Britain and Gone With The Wind, and yet South Park still stands strong.

Content is king nowadays. We are obsessed in bringing content out. We are also obsessed in taking content in. I think this is why this episode made me think of us so much. I can’t believe that this episode is nearly five years old. If the episode was made today, I would believe it.

The world of comedy has been walking on eggshells with the workness of cancel culture. Not South Park though, with South Park you should know what you’re getting into. Nobody is safe, not even Paris Hilton. I personally think South Park is great. It’s full of simple, crude and toilet jokes, but it does it’s job well. It perfectly captures the satire of modern culture well. You’re Not Yelping is one of the episodes that stands out for me from the newer episodes. I do think a lot of the older episodes have more replay value than the new ones, but I don’t think that South Park has lost it’s charm at all.

The song that features on this episode is so nasty, but also hilarious at the same time. It’s funny because to see the staff get their revenge on Yelp reviewers, but also how these places would get closed in real life if they were doing doing anything like this. Makes you wonder what really is in your foods that you’re eating.

So when I title this, Remember When South Park Wrote an Episode About Us? I guess the same logic can also be applied in other South Park episodes too. The police are incompetent in South Park, and many people feel this is the case in real life as well. All of a sudden, I don’t feel so hungry anymore.

Bon Appetit!

Also I was watching this video from WatchMojo, and I thought it was really interesting. How some people got more famous because of South Park, and how South Park inspired some of them to change as. Person. Seeing how people react to South Park really shows the true nature of these people. I really reccomend it!

review
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.