Geeks logo

Reactions as Wizkid Drags Nigerian Government During Interview (Video)

Big Wiz is speaking out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Mega Nigerian musician Ayo Balogun popularly known to us all as Wizkid recently went on Apple Music to promote his new album, Made in Lagos.

During the interview with Ebro, when asked about SARS and the #EndSARS movement, Wizkid got very passionate and gave a speech that people are now hailing and praising as one of the most passionate speeches about the situation by a mainstream Nigerian artiste. Wizkid talks about everything from why he always stayed away from politics to why he doesn't trust any of the politicians.

Without any further ado, here's what Wizkid said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Ebro and Wizkid on Apple Music interview

Speaking to Ebro about SARS, Wizkid said:

Since SARS was created, they've killed more people. It's everyday harrassment. There's videos online of police harrassing young people for no reason. It's just straight corruption. Every youth you see is not a criminal. I have people back at home like young boys that work for me. Imagine I'm in London, America, and my producers are calling me back home like "bro, I've just been stopped by the police, they don't believe I work for you." Me seeing all of that stuff is just disheartening. This shouldn't be our conversation, we want the police to protect us. We want the police to protect the people. We have more pressing issues affecting Nigeria - there's no 24/7 electricity as I speak to you. People use generators, there's people that can't even afford generators so they have to sleep in darkness. There's bad roads, and the government is quiet about all of this. To me it hurts.

I have growing kids. I have a 9 year old that's growing up and he's in Nigeria. I talk to him everyday. I want change for him. I want change for my son, I want change for the next generation. It's just sad that we've been quiet about this situation for the longest. People have been mincing words, people don't want to be direct about the conversation because of fear. It's just too much now that I can't even keep quiet about it. That's why every time they do this political thing, I always exempt myself when it's election period because I try not to influence people's votes. I don't even trust this guy. I'm not gonna go and say please come and vote for this guy when I don't know if he's gonna even change anything - I'm not gonna do that. I always just step aside but now it's too sad, we can't step aside anymore. We need answers, we need conversation, the president should speak to the people. Communication helps. People are sad, people are hungry.

It's amazing we have social media, the youth are getting more educated. We're growing up. I was 10 and all of this craziness was happening. I'm 30 years old right now and it's still happening. I'm not stupid. I'm gonna speak. We see all of these things and we recognize these things.

I want to say a big shoutout to everybody that goes out to speak for themselves, that marches to advocate for real change. Keep doing what you do, keep empowering people. We are all we got. We just have to empower and educate people that we can really do things on our own. You cannot let your environment determine your end result. You're a king, you're a queen. Don't see no nothing. Don't see no police brutality, don't see no color, don't see none of that. We are all human beings. We're kings and queens.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.