Geeks logo

Rant Review: "He's All That"

It's actually positive

By Lyvia JackPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

As a young adult I did grow up watching She's All That basically on repeat when I was feeling upset. Hey, it was my comfort movie okay? People have been and like to be really rough on Addison Rae, and I really do not know why. In this little rant review we're going to sit down and talk about this face to face.

I have been hearing from all over and in TikTok comments how Addison "doesn't deserve this role" and it's "spitting in the face of other up and coming actors" but can you give me a single reason why. I mean, legitimately why. I have not heard a single comment aside from "she's a bad actor" from people who haven't even watched. Let's go over it shall we.

In the first little bit of the movie we see that Addison's character is a social media influencer, which she is in real life too so I can see why she would be playing her for one reason. Some of her lines are a little rigidity but again, this is her first movie and aside from two or three lines in a whole one and a half hour film I'd say it was pretty good and she did fine for her first movie. They even had actors from the original movie in this one like our beloved Matthew Lillard which I was very, very happy about. Even Kourtney Kardashian is in this but I didn't see anyone bat an eye at that one. Go figure.

Not many of the main characters are A list actors either. All of them kind of known in smaller shows and movies not as successful but still yet, everyone took their own paths to get on that movie and Addison Rae happened to land the role. If we are out here being honest with one another I hope she snags even more roles because with some more experience and just a bit more practice I do believe she could be a really fantastic actress.

Anyway, back to the film talk here. The movie took hard left turns every time I saw or heard the character of Jordan. He's absolutely awful and I cannot stand to even look in his direction or hear his voice come from the TV. His character and Alden Pierce played by Madison Pettis are the worst in the whole movie. How can anyone even try to shift acting focus on Addison when they're in the picture too? I literally want to throw my head back and laugh over it.

I get it, people say that Addison is cringe and that she is overrated. She's a twenty one year old woman and her team is trying to make her family and kid friendly when, let's be honest, I don't think she wants to be that. They dress her the way they want her to dress and people can't help but laugh. I do agree, her team is really messing up her image and if she could be allowed to dress herself and look the way she wants to look she would be fine. It's actually kind of alarming because we've seen what Britney Spears has gone through all these years and I would hate to see another young woman go in that direction because of her team and contracts she was forced to sign as a teenager. I'm not saying that's the situation, but it is highly upsetting to me.

Before I close out I'd like to take a moment to go over the people I see being so casually hateful in comments of hers. I can't piece together in my brain why folks leave so many hate comments especially on someone they don't even know anything about. I also saw many reviews on her movie from people who didn't watch at all and left negative things. Let's all try to be a little more positive in this life. A legitimate review is different, a hate review is nasty. Keep it classy out there.

xx

review
Like

About the Creator

Lyvia Jack

In the writing style of your bestie. We are among friends here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.