Geeks logo

Post your content online please!

I know a lot of you hesitate at posting your art online. I'll explain why you should.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

I am like millions of you out there. I've hesitated at posting things for the longest time. There are a multitude of reasons why you shouldn't post your content online. To each their own but your art should be observed by the world. You really shouldn't hold yourself back with pessimistic thoughts or worry about the reasons why you're posting in the first place. Trust me I've been there and here are some of the reasons why I didn't post my stuff.

First of all I didn't really think people would like the stuff I create. Who would want to read my stuff or watch my videos? Why should they? We have a ton of questions we ask ourselves when we first contemplate on posting any of our work.

The thing is that we all have our own reasons for making art. Sometimes it's a personal therapeutic thing. It's fine to keep some of that to yourself but this is kind of a selfish thing to do. You see someone out there can be influenced or inspired by your art. We don't know how people will react to your work. I know what you're thinking too.

One of my worse fears is that people will be critical of my art and that I can't take the criticism. Again I think this is selfish of ourselves to think. I know, why would this be considered selfish? Well in art we want to reinvent ourselves and continuously get better at what we do. If you aren't able to take criticism how are you going to grow? Now I know that not all criticism is going to be constructive but that just comes with the territory.

There will always be haters and those that are just harshly critical of everything. We don't think that there's any benefit of these type of people but I think otherwise. These haters and critics are actually build your character. How much do you believe in your art? Are you truly genuine to your art or will you quit because they tell you that you aren't any good? It really shows the commitment of your work.

Those that are truly about their art will continue to push on regardless of what anyone else says about their work. They usually come out stronger in the end. Regardless of the outcome you will be affected by the situation. You may pivot your art direction or style. Things change and you metamorphosize into something I hope you like even more. As long as you keep up with your work it doesn't matter.

Over the last few years I've learned something about art that I think I always knew. I couldn't tell myself this when I was actually writing, making videos or performed in dance. Art is subjective. There is something for everyone. There is close to 7.6 billion people in this world. You have to realize the context of this number. It's an astronomical number of people. None of these people think alike. That's why we have wars and disputes. As an artist you have to realize that this is a great thing.

The more you experiment with your art the more chances that your art will resonate with someone or even a group of people. Remember 7.6 billion people and we're still growing. If you think about YouTube, people consider a video popular if it can get 100,000 views. Put that into perspective with the world population. If I put 7.6 billion in numbers it would be 7,600,000,000. 100,000 is 0.00001% of the 7.6 billion. So there is tons of hope for all of us.

What I'm trying to say is that your art no matter what it is will be appreciated by someone or even a group of people. You just have to continue to make your art to your best ability and continue to produce. The more you produce the more content you will have to share to the world. Eventually your voice will be heard because 7.6 billion people is a lot of noise.

To sound even more convincing, understand that there are over 7 billion people that have the same thought as you do. They have all the same questions and doubt in themselves. If you put yourself out there you are one step closer reaching people. Your art can speak to people and you never know who it'll affect.

Even if your art never becomes super popular you never know who it will influence or inspire. You could very well create a butterfly effect to bring out the next great artist. What I'm trying to say is that keeping your art to yourself may be safe but you don't know how much influence you might have with your art.

This is not only good for the world but it's good for you. Trust me it's always nice to know that your art is appreciated and has affected someone. It's beautiful to be able to communicate with someone else even if it's not exactly in the way that we expect. That is what art does, it speaks to people. An artist can convey a lot to someone with their art. So please, post your content online. If not for your sake do it for me.

art
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.