Geeks logo

Post 90s Marvels

I'm nostalgic for Marvel's "earlier" work but the great characters don't end there

By CKPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Since I grew up in the 90s, I felt like the superhero shows I watched as a kid were like a greatest hits of all the best stories from the comics. Shows like the Spider-Man and X-men animated series' were adapting great modern (at the time) comics stories but also pulling from classic older comic arcs for their episodes. So naturally most of my favourite Marvel stories and characters debued in the 90's or earlier. Despite this later eras of Marvel still have a lot to offer so I thought I'd right about my favourite characters that were created in the 2000s or later.

Ms. Marvel

I had very little opinion on this character until recently. I merely watched Ms. Marvel because it was the latest Marvel show on Disney Plus. My expectations weren't too high and it's far from my favourite marvel show, but I certainly enjoyed its plot, the supporting cast and especially its main character. Even though the three Peter Parker's from get closer and closer to nailing high school aspect of a young hero I'd argue that Ms. Marvel possibly does it even better with Kamala. Being not to familiar with the Ms. Marvel comics I couldn't help but compare Kamila to Spider-Man's comics portrayal. I thought the way she has to balance her social/romantic life, family responsibilities and heroics all at once was really great. I also think it was nice to see a marvel show with so many Muslim characters. I can't speak on behalf of that community but I hope the amount of Islamic characters and their portrayal was authentic and enjoyable for Muslim viewers.

Miles Morales

Similar to Ms. Marvel, Miles Morales is somewhat a successor to an already established hero that adds more representation to an underrepresented group. I was aware of the character a bit but only really appreciated him after watching the very good Spider-Man: into the Spider-Verse and him being well used in PlayStation's latest Spider-Man games.

Mr. Negative

Another character I gained appreciation for due to insomniac's take on Spider-Man was Mr. Negative. From the start his visual aesthetic is so awesome and striking. His double life and connection to Peter is compelling. Plus his ability to alter personalities like he does with anti-venom in the comics opens up so many interesting options for the characters around him.

Jessica Jones

Admittedly a lot of what I like about Jessica Jones is tied to the phenomenal first season of her Netflix show and it's awesome use of the purple man (who originated in print way before the 90s). Yet even without that element Jessica Jones is great in her own right. She's flawed in how she treats people and her issues with alcohol so she's more relate able than most superheroes. It's very satisfying to see her use her powers to manhandle non powered foes, yet other powered enemies are a believable threat to her. Additionally, the investigative part of the character is also super intriguing because in many cases her own ingenuity is what helps her be a hero instead of the powers she received.

Gorr the God Butcher

I'm not tied to the comic depiction of Gorr and my only real impression is from Thor: Love and Thunder. That being said, Christian Bale's performance was one of my favourites in any Marvel film or show. Although such a dark villain seemed a little off in a pretty silly Thor film I still was captivated by every scene he was in. Given the ending of the film I don't think there will be an influx of Gorr appearances in Marvel media but nevertheless one appearance has made Gorr one of my favourite post 90s Marvel Villains.

The Hood

I'm not too familiar with The Hood aside from his appearance in a mobile game I played a while back and reading about him when speculating on what villains may be used in Marvel's Netflix shows. For a character I knew little about there was a lot I liked about him instantly. The marriage of supernatural powers with a typical mafia gangster is incredibly interesting to me. While he didn't technically end up in a marvel Netflix show he will be in a Disney plus one soon. Personally I'm very excited for his appearance and that I'm realizing just how many great Marvel characters have debuted since the 2000s.

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

CK

Glad to have a place to write my thoughts down

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.