Geeks logo

Photo Ops: In Their Own Words

The experiences of taking photos with famous people

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Me with Jason David Frank at Arkansas Comic Con

Greetings, Vocal readers. In this article, I'm going to talk about photo ops and what it's like to do them with famous people you have either grown up watching and/or admire so much. A few days ago, I talked to a couple of people on Facebook and shared their photo op experiences with me. Just a heads up: one person in this article has two photo ops. So check out the two people that you're about to meet. I'll share my own photo op experiences near the end of this article.

Stephen R. Whittaker

"I don't have any major ones to share, other than posing with the lead singer of Ghost as his character in a photo op."

Jeffrey L. Shaw II

"This was both mine and my son's second time meeting Austin St. John and he didn't disappoint. He was fantastic. Still my favorite Ranger to meet wit the best attitude. In fact, I had him sign my copy of the Forever Red script I purchased at PMC last year and he told me the story behind his iconic line from the episode."

Last but not least, it's my turn to share my own photo op experiences. About a month ago, I attended Arkansas Comic Con in Little Rock. It was my first time going to this particular convention. Most of my friends who had gone there many times said it was enjoyable. When I saw the list of guests scheduled to be there, I made plans on attending the con. After returning from Little Rock, I wrote a review of the con and shared my thoughts about it. If you haven't seen my Arkansas Comic Con review, the link to it will be down below, but for now, I want to share my photo op experiences with two of the most amazing people ever.

Arkansas Comic Con Review: https://vocal.media/geeks/arkansas-comic-con-2019-review

Meeting Kevin Conroy

I had two photo ops scheduled for the Saturday of Arkansas Comic Con, and the first one I've done was with none other than Kevin Conroy, the voice of Batman in Batman: The Animated Series. He's one of many well-known people that I highly respect and was so humble. I would love to meet Mark Hamill, who voices The Joker in the superhero animated television series, alongside Conroy, at a con someday. I love the both of these guys with the utmost respect.

Meeting Jason David Frank (pictured above)

Three hours later, I had the opportunity to meet the one person that I once disliked for two years: Jason David Frank. I've written articles about him and I got so much backlash from so many of his fans and also from most of my friends, assuming that I was mean and called every name in the book. I stand by every article and social media post about him, so I'm not apologizing for being honest. In other words, I said what I said. All of my posts about Jason aren't always negative and I'll tell you why. I've shared posts on social media where he's featured and liked my posts related to the Green Ranger. Also, when I tagged him in my Lord Gyaradrakkon cosplay pic on Instagram I debuted at GlitchCon back in August, which helped me win my very first cosplay contest, he liked that post. So there have been times that I showed him nothing but props and praises. I still love Jason David Frank and the point of my posts about him for the last couple of years was that he needed to be more humble. I know he has a great personality and loves his fans, but all I said that he needed to be more humble and stop being a show off. He may not be my overall favorite Ranger, but I love the great things that he does for his fans, especially at cons.

As far as meeting him at Arkansas Comic Con, he was so great and when I got done having my picture taken with him, I shook his hand and told him it was great meeting him. I knocked off an important item off my bucket list and it was so outstanding to finally meet someone that I grew up watching as a kid. I hope to go to a con next year in my Lord Gyaradrakkon cosplay to meet Jason David Frank in person.

I want to thank Stephen and Jeffrey for taking the time to share their photo op experiences. Before I end this article, I want to share some advice to those thinking about doing photo ops with these famous people. The first thing to keep in mind is to show up at least 15-20 minutes before your scheduled photo op. Yes, the lines will be long, but photo ops are enjoyable. The second thing is take advantage of every one of them as possible. I know at most cons, when you do a photo op with someone, you receive a print of yourself and the person you took a picture with. It was my first time doing these photo ops, and I plan of framing my pictures soon.

I'm on social media, so please make sure you follow me on the pages indicated in my bio. In the meantime, if you like the articles I've written and like my content, feel free to send me a small one-off tip, that's located towards the end of every article. Your support is greatly appreciated. Your tip not only helps me, but also helps other Vocal content creators create outstanding content. Be sure to support them and read their articles. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So, be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

conventions
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.