Geeks logo

Part II Of My Favorite Idris Elba Movies So Far

"I'm a little sheepish about it. Whenever I meet fans and they're like, 'Oh, you're so sexy,' I just don't get that. There's no way one man can be universally sexy."- Idris Elba

By teisha lesheaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
5
The photo is from People Magazine for you guessed it "The Sexist Man Alive." The frame was created through Canva

I had so much fun writing part I of this mini-series that I had to return for part II. This list is for entertainment purposes with a mixture of being a fangirl but, that's beside the point. I think it's essential to give the ones we love and admire their flowers. Why wait until someone is gone to profess your love and admiration for someone? It's not like they can read it. As I was writing out the list, I noticed that I would indeed be writing a part three; why? Because I can, and that's my business in my Tabitha Brown voice. There's plenty of sobby sap stories on the world wide web; it's time to have fun and get lost every once in a while, and why not do it while watching my husband, who doesn't know is my husband?

So once again, let's get into the list with the obvious.

The Harder They Fall

Rufus Buck

I don't own the rights to this photo. From Google Images

A star-studded movie that I wouldn't mind watching over and over again. The production, music, and acting molded well when telling these stories. For those who aren't aware, the characters played throughout the film portray real people. The storyline was fiction.

According to the site History Junkies, "The Rufus Buck Gang was a multi-racial gang of African-American gunslingers and part Creek Indian. They operated in the Arkansas and Oklahoma area from 1895-1896. The gang was founded by Rufus Buck and consisted of Lewis Davis, Sam Sampson, Mamma July, and Lucky Davis."

After watching several promo interviews for this film, Idris did explain that Rufus Buck was in his late teens to early twenties. He did admit that he was playing an older version of the character, but it shouldn't negate that he was a gunslinger. What surprised me most about this movie was that Idris didn't receive much screen time. But, when he showed up on the screen, his mission was to tell the story. Although he was the most recognizable cast member, the story wasn't centered around him as most would hope.

Molly's Game

Charlie Jaffey

I don't own the rights to this photo. Google Images

Another film based on future Olympic Skier Molly Bloom, her Wikipedia page, states, "She had trained for years to become an Olympic skier but was injured while trying to qualify for the Olympics. In April 2013, she was charged with running a high-stakes poker game that originated in the Viper Room in Los Angeles, which attracted wealthy people, sports figures, and Hollywood celebrities. In May 2014, after pleading guilty to reduced charges, she was sentenced to one year of probation, a $1,000 fine, and 200 hours of community service."

Molly knows the stakes for her are high in this case, so she seeks the most expensive lawyer in New York, Charlie Jaffey, who is played by yours genuinely Idris "My Husband" Elba. The problem is that she has no money, and at first, he isn't willing to help her because his reputation is on the line. Once she explains that she wants to protect innocent people, he's intrigued. Although he wants to help Molly, his bigger calling is to help the innocent; the story seems simple, but the film displays Molly's ebbs and flows throughout this high-profile case.

Roland Deschain (the last Gunslinger)

The Dark Tower

I do not own the rights to this photo. Google Images

The last Gunslinger takes on being a protagonist; the story is also based on The Dark Tower series by Stephen King. Roland Deschain comes from a long line of gunslingers. His goal is to stop The Man In Black and destroy the tower that opens the gates to hell. Throughout this movie, you will see Idris (Roland) face his demons while on the quest to save many people.

Turn Up Charlie

Charlie

I don't own the rights to this photo. Google Images

In real life, Idris Elba loves to DJ and get the party jumping in Turn Up Charlie; he plays a struggling DJ who loves to sleep around and dream. He is a teenage boy living in a grown man's body. Charlie lacks confidence and sees things through. He discovers that he has one last chance to tackle his dream of becoming a famous DJ. His fear of failure has put him in a revolving door of being a dreamer instead of a doer; this is supposed to be a light-hearted film that shows his comedic side.

No Good Deed

Colin

I do not own the rights to this photo. Google Images

I disliked him in this movie which only means he did an excellent job of playing the part. It is a psychological thriller that takes the audience on a crazy ride. I've never thought in a billion years that he would play a bad guy. I also saw him as being the hero. This movie has many layers, so I'll give you the short version. Colin finds out his wife is having an affair with Taraji P Henson's husband. He locates the wife of the man she's having an affair with; he shows up playing the "good guy," you know, the typical "My car broke down can I use your phone?" type of "good guy." He tortures Taraji P Henson's character during that house visit, trying to protect her kids and save herself.

The details of these movies aren't long because I want you all to give these movies and shows a chance. If you didn't see your favorite Idris Elba Movie on this list, don't fret; part three is coming soon.

movie
5

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.