Geeks logo

One Gal’s Thoughts: ‘Bachelor in Paradise’- Week 3

Love Triangle City!

By Haley PetersonPublished 6 years ago 8 min read
Like

Week three of BIP was highly entertaining especially with all of the new love triangles. Couples that seemed solid last week don’t seem so stable anymore and my opinions have totally shifted. Instead of talking about my favorites, I mostly want to talk about the couples and triangles since they are a little more established this week. Let’s get into it!

Kenny, Jacqueline, Annaliese, and Bibiana (sort of)

Photo from E! News

I have to say Kenny has quickly become one of my favorites! He is so sweet and smooth. It is funny because he can kiss three girls over two days and no one cares, including me. Every encounter I just think, “That might work out.” I again felt badly for Annaliese when Jacqueline came and swept him away right when she thought they might make a connection, but that’s just the way it goes in paradise.

I thought the date with Jacqueline and Kenny went really well and they seemed like a nice match. I don’t know why it rarely comes up on the show, but the fact that he is about 10 years older than Jacqueline seemed like it might be an issue to me. However, as they say, age is just a number, and I thought the two of them had a cute banter and some chemistry. Once they returned to the resort and Annaliese had set up the palate cleanser, I started thinking Annaliese and Kenny were a better pair.

During the night of the rose ceremony when Bibiana approached Kenny, I thought it was a bit awkward which is a pity because they might have been really fun to watch together if she had pursued him sooner. Once Kenny had the wrestling match with Annaliese it was pretty clear to me that she was getting his rose. Unlike most love triangles, or squares, I thought all of the options could have had potential, but I’m definitely looking forward to she where it goes with Annalise and Kenny.

On a somewhat related note, I am bummed Bibiana went home. It was funny that she started the show as the fun loving girl and turned into the voice of reason. I thought she was so sweet when she talked to Tia, Colton, and Krystal. Her message of “Duh, you like each other. Stop overthinking it!” was clear and I think helped everyone she talked to.

Jenna, Jordan, and Benoit, with a little bit of David sprinkled in

Photo from Questionably Qualified

Man, the Jordan and Jenna relationship definitely took a turn for the worst this week. Jordan is like an enigma to me. I feel like if I knew him in real life he’d be that one guy I had been friends with forever who sometimes says stupid things but is fun either way. He would also be that guy that I would not set up with my single friends. That being said, I loved the way he talked about Jenna’s mannerisms, like how she stuck out her tongue when she smiled and clapped her hands when she laughed. It’s always sweet when a man notices those little things. So I guess I am rooting for them? I’m also thinking, “This is not going to end well” at the same time.

The whole dog debacle with David was just dumb, but it was still entertaining. Why is David giving Jenna a giant dog if he is planning on giving his rose to Chelsea? I don’t get the feeling that David and Chelsea are too into each other, but it is still rude. It was hilarious when Jordan walked over without saying a word to take the dog to the ocean. It was a perfect example of his immaturity, and if I was his girlfriend I would be pretty irritated. Obviously, Jordan's attack on Chelsea and Jubilee was totally uncalled for. It was another example of the fact that he is much more a boy than a man.

Despite his actions, I thought it was kind of funny that everyone kept saying they didn’t know whether or not Jenna would accept his rose. It is simple Bachelor in Paradise logic that you always accept a rose so you have a chance to meet the hotties coming in next week. That is exactly how it went, and Jenna got to meet Benoit.

I thought the date between Jenna and Benoit was okay, but it was honestly a little boring. I can see why she would be attracted to him as he seems like an actual grown up, but I didn’t really see the spark. Maybe other viewers did. I thought it was kind of rude of Jenna to not talk to Jordan beforehand, but he also deserved it in a way since he was being so ridiculous the night before. I think Jenna needed a Jordan break and would have said yes to anyone who asked her on a date. If I had to predict who is getting her rose, based on what I have seen so far, I am leaning toward Benoit just because I feel like Jenna doesn’t want to deal with Jordan’s immaturity.

Tia, Colton, Chris, and Krystal

Photo from tooFAB

I’m not going to spend long on this because I am honestly so sick of this storyline. Every time I hear Tia or Colton contemplating what to do I am just screaming, “Get on with it!” I understand Tia’s frustration, but I’m just not interested anymore.

Chris is still the worst. I thought it was hilarious that after the whole discussion with Tia he basically said he was planning on breaking up with her anyway, which wasn’t true. Every time he puts on that stupid headband I just want to punch him in the face. It doesn’t look good and Krystal really needs to explore her options. I don’t love Krystal either, but she is super hot and can do better than him.

I am glad Tia and Colton got together just so we can stop hearing about whether or not they are going to get together. I even thought the scene with Raven talking about how he’s not right for her was a little blah. I just don’t understand why either of them came to paradise if they weren’t going to date other people aside from the obvious fact that people like to be on TV.

Kendall, Joe, and Leo

Photo from Bachelor World on YouTube

This is by far my favorite storyline right now. Last week, I was loving Joe but after some gal chats I was starting to feel that he is way more of a pretty face than an interesting personality. I still think he is very sweet and kind but he might not be the excitement that Kendall is looking for. I felt so sad for him when Kendall went on the date with Leo, but I understood why she went.

Clearly, Kendall is way more into Leo than Joe and she is just trying to find a way to not break Joe’s heart. I feel a little badly for her because it would be so much easier to dump someone like Chris or Jordan and move on. Joe is so gentle so I understand why she is torn. I didn’t love the fact that she was so willing to go with Leo in the first place and was all over him, but I really think it was lust at first sight.

When it comes to Leo, I have no prior knowledge of him besides watching BIP, but so far I am kind of neutral on him. He seems a little skeezy and is all about dating around, but I don’t blame him because he is, after all, on a dating show! Aren't you supposed to make out with multiple girls if you get the chance? I loved how intrigued all of the girls were by him and I really think it was 95% due to his hair. I wish he would have taken Chelsea out instead since David is kind of a ding dong and they aren't too into each other anyway.

Nevertheless, Kendall and Leo had a ton of chemistry. Those were some pretty graphic make out sessions, especially for a first date. I do predict that he is going to make some douche moves and it's not going to work out. The previews for week four made that seem even more likely.

Everyone Else

There are a few other couples I haven’t mentioned. I still really like John and Jubilee together. I was glad he chose her over Caroline. Astrid and Kevin seem happy together although I think Astrid is a little more fun and witty than Kevin is. I don’t have much more to day about these couples as of yet!

I would definitely rate the week three episodes above week two. I am very interested to see how the Leo, Kendall, and Joe storyline plays out and I’m looking forward to more guys coming to shake things up. There is something I love about a group of women ogling a man like a piece of meat instead of it being the other way around. Until next time, I hope you are all here for the right reasons and I’ll catch up with you later.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Haley Peterson

I am a full-time teacher turned stay at home mom, and I have been loving every minute of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.