Geeks logo

Oh Look, A Squirrel!

A Recurring Theme In My Life

By Teresa GonzalesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Oh Look, A Squirrel!
Photo by Sven Fischer on Unsplash

From an early age I knew my brain was different from those around me. I had to have several things I was working on all at the same time or at other times I would find myself in a set of hyperfocus forgetting to do important things, like eat. My parents recognized my need for additional structure with the freedom to multi-task and kept plenty of things to keep my hands and mind engaged. There was no such thing as Attention Deficit Disorder then. When I was a kid you either learned to control yourself or you ended up in your bedroom, so you didn’t distract, really annoy, everyone else. I spent a LOT of time in my room. This is when I developed a strong bond to books, especially fantasy stories where my vivid imagination could wander free.

Eventually, I learned a myriad of coping skills to keep me out of trouble at home and at school. As an adult, I still employ various strategies in my day-to-day life to keep the pandemonium to a minimum. As I grew older I started calling these ‘distractions’ squirrels. I’ve heard some people call them rabbit trails. Those cute little fluffy animals may run around in circles, but rabbits stay on the ground. My trails go up the trees, over the branches, down to the ground, and back up into the trees again. Rabbits seem docile, something I have never been accused of. So, I have squirrels; a whole clan of them. There are days my husband comes home and sees a lot of projects started and very little finished. I just look at him and say, “The squirrels won today.”

From those early days spent in my room, reading became an integral part of who I am. Exploring the far away realms of Narnia and Middle Earth I had magnificent adventures. I dreamed of soaring on the back of a dragon like Eustace and Smaug. I didn't learn about Norwegian Ridgebacks or Hungarian Horntails until I had children of my own and read the Harry Potter series with my son. It wasn't long before I became a huge Harry Potter fan. When the website Pottermore came out, I went there straight away to find my Patronus. I took the test hoping for a dragon, or a Gryffin or some noble creature. However, it seems J.K. Rowling knows me even better than I know myself. Any guesses as to which animal my Patronus is?

Not a dragon. Not a Gryffin. Not even a Thestral. A squirrel! That’s right…..a stinking squirrel!

I mean seriously! I have to deal with squirrels every…..single…..day. Now squirrels were invading my literary sanctuary as well. Being the studious person I am, I needed to look up exactly what traits attract a red squirrel Patronus.

Here is what I found:

Red Squirrel – As an endangered species, the red squirrel is rare to find outside of protected wildlife reserves. If this is your Patronus, then you should definitely feel pride at your unique and uncommonly found personality! Curious and peaceful in demeanor, red squirrels are used to maintaining a strong level of privacy so as not to get hurt. They may be quiet, but these rust-colored creatures are vicious and not to be crossed when protecting their property and defending their friends, [family and children].

Wow! This is me to a tee! I don’t have many friends because I don’t let people get close enough to be able to hurt me. Heaven forbid anyone should come against the few friends I have, or worse my family. I would literally rip them to pieces. Did you happen to see that word, vicious? A dragon, Gryffin, and thestral may all strike fear in their enemies. But beware of the innocent looking squirrel, it will take you down before you even see it coming. Kind of makes the Red Squirrel look like the perfect Patronus for me.

literature
3

About the Creator

Teresa Gonzales

I've always been a writer. I write for pleasure, clarity, and fun. It has only been later in life I realized others would enjoy my ramblings. I've written a fantasy novel as well as articles on books, travel, crafting, and my chaotic life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Omg I'm sp happy to meet a Harry Potter fan!

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    I loved this article! And I'm totally going to start using the phrase "The squirrels won today.”

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.