Geeks logo

Nikoleta Morales

Entertainment Journalist

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Nikoleta Morales is an award-winning writer, author, entertainment journalist, editor and publicist in Chicago. She immigrated to the US alone at 15 from Bulgaria. She has written for several publications in the US and abroad, such as BG Voice, Extra Newspaper, Lawndale News, The Daily Herald FF2 Media, Noseweek (South Africa), Cultured Focus Magazine, Montana Press Monthly Newspaper and others. Nikoleta is in the process of publishing her first memoir by Rose Gold Publishing, LLC. This year she was nominated by the IWPA for a Communicator of Achievement and recognized by the National Federation of Press Women on a national level. Nikoleta has interviewed many celebrities, as well as covered the 2019 and 2020 Oscars.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the Media & PR industry?

Nikoleta Morales:

Both my Bachelor and my Master degrees are in Journalism. I fell in love with the media in college. Initially, I was studying Biology with the idea to become a doctor, but it wasn’t what I was meant to do. I changed career paths and followed my passion in writing and telling the truth. I love telling stories, meeting people, attending events and the media world offers all of that. But what I love most is the ability to make a change in the world and have a voice.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Nikoleta Morales:

I am an entertainment journalist and I love the entertainment field. It gives me the ability to enter different worlds in the film, music, arts and fashion industry and find out more about the people in them. It gives me the opportunity to be among the stars and learn from the best in the industry. I am a creative person who loves to shine and I find a lot in common with the people I meet and interview. I also love covering film festivals, such as the Sundance Film Festival, as well as prestigious award shows like the Oscars.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges?

Nikoleta Morales:

The biggest challenge has been financial. The entertainment journalism income has been supplemental. My hope is that one day, I can make a living solely of entertainment journalism. But the reality is that very few make it on that level. Most, like myself, are just happy to be doing freelance work. Another challenge has been the Covid-19 pandemic, which left me without my two main jobs and struggling to get back in the job field.

Tammy Reese:

What was the experience like for you covering the Oscars?

Nikoleta Morales:

It was a fairy tale dream! I was born in a small town in Bulgaria, Eastern Europe, and I grew up watching it on TV, dreaming about it. When I left for the US on my own at 15, I had no idea that 20 years later, I would be walking the Oscars red carpet among the stars in Hollywood and be in the same room as them asking them questions as they held their Oscars. I want to relive this dream every year! I was also the first journalist from FF2 Media to be accredited and accepted to cover the Oscars. It is very competitive and over thousand media outlets apply from all over the world, but only a handful get accepted. It was a very proud moment for me to have been chosen twice - in 2019 and 2020.

Tammy Reese:

What are some other memorable moments in your career so far?

Nikoleta Morales:

Meeting my favorite stars in person, such as Eva Longoria, Billie Eilish, Lady Gaga, Rob Schneider, among many others. I am also proud that in 2014 I was one of the few photojournalists accredited to cover President Obama's arrival on Air Force One to meet with the mayor of Chicago at the time, Rahm Emanuel. I was also the only female photojournalist to do so. I loved my job as a Managing Editor at EXTRA Newspaper at the time and being able to make a difference in the community.

I am also proud I was able to cover the Sundance Film Festival twice, and get an exclusive premier interview with Kerry Washington in 2020 for Cultured Focus Magazine, as well as see Taylor Swift and Hillary Clinton up close. I loved being chosen as the first journalist among three to ask Renee Zellweger a question as soon she received her Oscar. I am also honored to have been nominated for a Communicator of Achievement Award by the IWPA in 2020 as only one person gets nominated and chosen by the IWPA each year. I am honored that my personal blog won a national NFPW award in 2019 for Best Blog category. There are many achievements I am proud of over the years, but these are the ones that stand out the most.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Nikoleta Morales:

I am currently working on my memoir book telling my own life story of survival, resilience, success, defeat and triumph. I will also be competing in the MRI International Beauty Pageant in 2021. I won the American Elegance Illinois Woman 2020 title this year and I couldn’t be more proud. I am also working on co-writing a documentary film script.

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Nikoleta Morales:

More entertainment stories, celebrity interviews, film reviews, and more appearances.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

Nikoleta Morales:

I am looking forward to a year without Covid, with less division, more love, and a life that is back to normal. I want a year filled with more job opportunities, compassion and kindness. Let’s love one another more.

Tammy Reese:

What valuable lessons will you take from 2020 into the new year?

Nikoleta Morales:

The most valuable lesson is to be grateful for what you have because it can be taken away from you at any moment. Spend more time with family, friends and loved ones because this year proved that being alone can be scary, lonely and tragic. Take care of your health, make it a priority and practice self-love. It also taught me that the world is in need of healing, hope and more love.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to get into the Media and PR industry?

Nikoleta Morales:

Be mentally prepared to fail and get back up. It is a roller coaster of ups and downs, and sometimes the ups are so high that the downs can feel like an eternity in hell, but it is resilience and believing in yourself that will get you back up on the road to success.

Keep up-to-date with Nikoleta Morales and her career journey by connecting on social media:

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

LinkedIn

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.