Geeks logo

NewsBreak Contributors update

This is the current situation on the writing platform and is subject to change.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1
NewsBreak Contributors update
Photo by Taras Shypka on Unsplash

NewsBreak Update

This article is being written on May 12 2023 and all information could change so keep that in mind. This is my update for aspiring contributors to have an idea of what to expect at this time. When it comes to writing platforms and how they pay contributors they are all different. Vocal Media pays $6.00 per 1,000 views for Vocal Plus members so you can always calculate your income and know what you will be paid. Hubpages does not give a specific RPM but you can average your income versus your views and obtain an average. Several Hubbers I have spoken with say they average around $4.00 RPM and I find I fluctuate but average about the same. When it comes to writing for NewsBreak things are different.

I have been told that Medium pays after you have a certain number of subscribers who are also on the platform but I have not gotten there yet so I have not been paid for the few articles I have submitted. The NewsBreak algorithm decides how much you make and at this time local stories are the priority. NB does not guarantee distribution but in the past many contributors including myself had viral stories where hundreds of thousands and even millions were reading what we wrote relating to breaking news. Now that the algorithm does not promote national stories we are noticing that we are getting only hundreds of views.

By Obi - @pixel7propix on Unsplash

Original News works best

Original news stories in your city, county or state could get $20.00 or more rpm or $2.00 or less. There are no guarantees and no specific formula but rewrites of other publishers will get you very little money. I have noticed, however, that articles I write about the arts, and ballet are not promoted and therefore do not get many views. I have read articles online in the past where NewsBreak contributors said they were under contract and received an assigned amount of money so if you read such an article please look at the date.

I have had other creators asking me what I did to obtain a viral article but there is no magic bullet. You can write from your heart and know you produced a great work but others may not read it. You could write something trivial and it might go viral. I write soap opera spoilers so when big news breaks or a soap star dies the views go up.

By Nick Morrison on Unsplash

Different strokes for different sites

Recently on Vocal Media, I wrote an article on actress Jackie Zeman who passed away a few days ago. I also updated another article I had written on her life. I have received over $100 two days ins a row but this is not typical as I have written about the lives and deaths of other actors and received far fewer views but I know sharing on social media General Hospital groups helped.

I also wrote about the actress on NewsBreak, and because it only went to people in Virginia and NB only promoted the story to 1,000 phone apps. I have only 400 views after 3 days and sharing NewsBreak content on social media has no effect on views so it's a waste of time because you don't get credit. Last year I made $400 in one day with NewsBreak because the articles were being distributed throughout the US and I wrote breaking news on celebrities. Today I am thankful for $30.oo a day because my market is limited to my state.I hope this info helps someone to have a better grasp of what to expect on NewsBreak at this present time.

social media
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    I'm beginning to understand. The articles on Soaps aren't written for Vocal, only shared here. Makes sense.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.