Geeks logo

My Top 10 Favorite Olsen Twin Movies

If you grew up in the 90s, I am sure you, or someone you know was obsessed with the Olsen Twins.

By Kimmiekins4Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Scene from Billboard Dad 1998

Now that all things 90s and 00s is making its way back around with the younger generation, Olsen Twins fan accounts have been popping up on my social media feeds more than ever before. The twins aren't much older than myself so I grew up watching their rise to fame. I remember I got mistaken for one of them once in Las Vegas, best day ever. I thought back then that it would be so cool to live their life, but looking back now I don't think that I could have handled their work schedule. And they even have stated that they look back at photos and don't even feel connected to their childhood.

That being said I am so grateful for their shows and movies and they bring me an overwhelming amount of nostalgia , and even though I haven't seen any of these movies in many years at least in their entirety I still know the by heart. I'll never understand how I can remember movie quotes from 20 years ago, but can't remember what I went into the kitchen for!

Without further delay here in no particular order my top 10 favorite MaryKate and Ashley Movies:

10.New York Minute:

New York Minute 2004

I can't believe this movie came out 17 years ago! This was MaryKate and Ashleys last onscreen film together. I thought this was a cute movie, and I was really jealous of the Simple Plan music video scene. Simple Plan is still one of my favorite bands! I was also jealous of the their fashion, I defiantly wanted Roxy's clothes. I remember being sad that this was going to be their last movie, but I am proud that they stopped and went on to do their fashion career which I feel they are the happiest doing.

9. Billboard Dad

Billboard Dad 1998

Oh man I was 11 when this movie came out, and I was obsessed. I remember I wanted to have the hair styles that they had in this movie so bad. I would spend hours trying to achieve these hair styles but was always unsuccessful. I loved the plot of this movie, I thought it was cute how they went about getting their dad a girlfriend. Usually with movie plots like this the kids are trying to make the woman's life hell so she will leave. I think its crazy looking back and remembering there was singles ads in news papers (or in this case a billboard) rather than all of us having a million dating apps on our phones that we mindlessly swipe on all day long.

8. Passport to Paris

Passport to Paris 1999

To this day this is still one of my favorite movies! I absolutely loved their fashion in this movie, and I of course was begging my parents to send me to Paris! I also had a huge crush on Ally's french boyfriend Jean (Broker Way). This movie defiantly gave me false expectations for fashion and boyfriends but it's still one of the greatest movies, and I think I will watch it again soon. Fun fact I actually rented this movie from Netflix back when Netflix had DVDs and I forgot to return it, I recently found it in a move haha. Yes, I am old and not even ashamed anymore.

7. Holiday in the Sun:

Holiday in the Sun 2001

Holiday in The Sun, out of all their movies this one is one of my top favorites. The Atlantis resort is still on my destination list along with Paris, one day when we can fully travel again. One thing I remember most about this movie is Megan Fox's and her character Brianna. I don't know why but I remember thinking that if I ever got to do acting I wanted to play a mean girl like that. I think I always gravitate toward mean characters because I would never act like that in real life, and I think Megan did good with that character.

6. Getting There:

Getting There 2002

This movie holds so much misadventure but I love it. In some ways it defiantly show cases how road trips almost always have a list of things that go wrong. But in the end they end up being the best times of your life, and the most memorable. While a lot of scenarios are unrealistic I still love this movie.

5. It Takes Two:

It Takes Two 1995

Even though people like to hate by calling it a rip off of the Parent Trap I really liked this version of the story. I like the twist they did were they made one of the twins an orphan so it wasn't EXACTLY like parent trap as far as the background of characters go. I love the Lindsay Lohan version of the parent trap as well. All and all I think they did a wonderful job in this movie.

4. Switching Goals:

Switching Goals 1999

Another cute movie! I like the concept of them switching places and learn lessons that they may never otherwise have learned. I was never good at sports so I found Emmas character inspirational as she finds that she's actually good at being goalie in soccer.

3. Double Double Toil in Trouble:

Double Double Toil in Trouble 1993

This was the second film that they did. I haven't watched this movie in a while, and Halloween just ended but I think I may have to watch it again.

2:How the West was Fun

How the West Was Fun 1994

I have only seen this movie a couple of times, but knowing how much MaryKate loves riding horses I think its cool that they were able to get to film a movie that includes something that they loved.

1:When in Rome

When in Rome 2002

I loved this movie so much, just like passport to Paris this movie inspired me to travel to Rome one day. I couldn't imagine going all the way to Rome for a summer internship in the mail room. But they honestly had they best adventure outside of that! I feel like we all hope going to another country to have an adventure like that.

Well, these are my 10 favorite movies of MaryKate and Ashley. I didn't include the You're invited to MaryKate and Ashleys and the Adventures of MaryKate and Ashley that will be a whole other post! Do you like these movies? I know there was a few not on this list, but all and all I pretty much loved all of their movies. Putting this list together made me realize how hard they worked back then. And this is no where near all of what they accomplished!

list
Like

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.