Geeks logo

My Review of "ZZ Top: That Little Ol' Band From Texas"

A documentary about a great band with an interesting history.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have to admit that I'm not the biggest fan of ZZ Top but I do like a few of their songs. I wasn't sure if ZZ Top: That Little Ol' Band From Texas was going to be a good documentary. I haven't really followed this band and the last songs I remembered hearing from them was from the 80's and 90's. There's a lot of time to waste nowadays and I was really happy that I took the chance and watched this documentary.

ZZ Top has been around for around 50 years and this trio have a long lasting brotherhood relationship with one another. I didn't realize just how far this band has taken their music until I got to see this documentary.

They talked about the beginning of the band and how they all got together despite being in two separate bands and only meeting one another because of some unfortunate incidents. It's interesting how they had all clicked immediately when they started playing together because they had all grown up with the same type of music. They're all like minded in the way that they approach music but I was surprised that they never really talked about any squabbling between the three.

It was really interesting to hear about all of their influences and who they had opened up for as well as met. They pretty much met with a lot of legends only to become legends themselves later in life. I found it interesting how they had such humble beginnings and they take you on this trip down memory lane. They talk about how they had started by doing concerts in little towns to build up an air of mystery to the band. They had even done concerts for only one person. It goes to show that everyone starts from somewhere.

Later on they talk about how they had taken a break from their tour and needed to unwind so that they don't become burnt out. Their comeback would come during a time that the world was changing. The impact of music videos would forever change the way they were perceived and cement them as huge stars around the world.

One of the great things that they talked about throughout the documentary is how they stuck to their guns about certain things like their approach to music and where they came from. It's easy to allow others to dictate who you are but they wouldn't allow this to happen. They made Texans proud by not shying away from their origins. Apparently, in the beginning of their career, being from Texas was nothing to boast about. Some stars lied about where they came from because of the stigma of coming from Texas.

I have a new found respect for this group and forgot how many good songs they had made back in the day. They may have rejuvenated my interest in their songs. Especially since they have always been experimenting with new sounds to create new music. I'm curious what new music they have because they have reinvented themselves time and time again.

Even if you don't know much about ZZ Top I think you'll have a good time watching this documentary. They give a lot of information about their group and its humble beginnings and the brotherhood that formed out of their career.

Overall, I really enjoyed this movie despite the fact that they didn't talk about too many setbacks in their lives except for the odd drug abuse stint. For the most part it seems they lived a pretty clean life. I'm not sure if they're telling us everything. I will have to give this film an 8 out of 10. It's a great diversion even if you don't know anything about ZZ Top. I would recommend this film to people even if they don't like ZZ Top's genre of music.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.