Geeks logo

My Review of "We Summon The Darkness"

A movie with some interesting concepts but has a bit of difficulty with the execution.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

We Summon The Darkness is a very fascinating movie with a pretty interesting concept. I think it's a little bit wasted in this movie but could have been pretty good. There wasn't much fanfare with this movie and I only encountered it by chance. To be honest I wasn't totally mad that it came my way because I did like what they were trying with this movie.

The whole movie starts up with three girls traveling to a concert. They seem to be your run of the mill young adults going to a concert. What I didn't realize was that the movie was based in the 80's. It didn't occur to me until they got to the gasoline station. I thought they were just dressed that way for fashion. It just goes to show you how fashion cycles every few decades.

In the gas station the plot is revealed. There have been some killers on the loose and it's assumed that they had something to do with the heavy metal concerts that were happening. I guess these girls are traveling along the bible belt of the United States as it seems like a pretty religious area of the country. There's a preacher that denounces heavy metal on TV and the movie tries to pull us viewers in with intrigue.

There so happens to be three guys traveling to the same concert that these girls are going to. They had chucked a milkshake on the girl's car earlier without realizing they were going to the same place. The two groups eventually meet each other and it's a little too amicable right away. You know something is is going on but then again that's the general perspective of horror movie goers.

The thing is, I'm not sure if this is meant to be a horror movie or not. There are absolutely no scares in this movie but they kind of play it off as if it's supposed to be a horror movie. There's a moody feel with the music, the colors, decor and the atmosphere of the movie. I'm spoiling it a bit by letting you know right away that there are absolutely no jump scares. I didn't even feel as though they even tried to seek out any suspense for any jump scares throughout the movie.

So the three girls invite the boys to one of the girl's places to have some drinks and a little fun. From there the movie gets a little crazy as a series of unfortunate events happen one after the other. Some of them accidental and some on purpose. Some of the members of each group start to reevaluate what's really going on and who the good guys and bad guys really are.

With each scene I always felt as though something bigger was going to happen but it never came. I guess this sort of gave me a bit of an underwhelming reaction to the movie. It's like there's not even a climax to the movie ever. I was just stuck there waiting for the ride to climb to a climax but it's sort of a steady and slow incline. There's no real thrills but there is a little fun to be had.

It's really unfortunate too because I think they could have really made something out of this movie. I'm sure the actors that chose to play in this movie had the same ideas in their heads. The premise of the movie is really interesting and the plot twist is pretty fun as well. It's just too bad that the overall execution of the movie was pretty underwhelming.

That's not to say you can't have fun with this movie. I still had fun watching this movie but it almost feels like an older TV series that would have been on a youth TV network made for young adults. It's fairly simple and that's not a bad thing.

Overall, if you don't have a ton to watch I think this movie wouldn't be an entire waste of time. It's fun for what it is. It's basically like a cookie. It's a snack that you know isn't good for you but it's there on the counter why not eat it? I have to give this movie a 6.5 out of 10. It's not entirely terrible and I think someone should remake this with better suspense throughout the movie.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.