Geeks logo

My Review of "Wayne's World 2"

I forgot how funny this movie was until I saw it again.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Wayne's World 2 is one of those rare sequels that I'll probably watch over again if it's playing. I haven't seen this movie for quite some time and I forgot how fun it was. The pure silliness of the movie and the fact that it satires a lot of tremendously popular things of the time keeps me coming back. It's sort of a time capsule of fun that transports me back to the 90's whenever I see it.

This movie starts off with Wayne and Garth airing their latest episode of Wayne's World. The two have moved out of their parent's basement and are kind of becoming adults now even though it's only about a year since the first movie.

Wayne is still going out with Cassandra but Garth is now trying to figure out himself now that he doesn't live with his parents.

Now that the two are getting older they have different things they have to think about. Garth is learning about the opposite sex while Wayne needs to figure out what to do with his life.

Hilariously, Wayne has a dream that consisted of a naked aboriginal man and the lead singer of the Doors, Jim Morrison. It's absolutely bizarre but it's a way to get the plot going. Jim Morrison basically tells Wayne that he needs to create a music festival. It's an obvious spoof of Field of Dreams where Jim Morison will tell Wayne that if he books them they will come.

Meanwhile, Cassandra has a new producer named Bobby. They basically play this off similar to the first movie with Benjamin. It's almost identical in that Bobby needs to split Wayne and Cassandra up so that they can progress Cassandra's career. Wayne again gets jealous and splits from Cassandra only to try to win her heart at the end of the movie. This is played off in a joking way and spoof tons of movie tropes even going so far as spoofing the Graduate.

One of the funniest moments was the relationship between Garth and Honey Horneé. Their interaction is hilarious as Honey is ridiculous gorgeous and comes after Garth at the laundromat. Garth innocently doesn't realize what's going on and his responses to her are gut-wrenchingly funny.

There are a lot of pretty classic hilarious scenes in this movie that still get me to this day. I don't know if it's the fact that they're nostalgic jokes because some of these jokes might not work with today's youth. They might not understand the references that they're referring to.

After watching this movie I was kind of disappointed that they don't make spoof movies that make fun of today's pop culture. Then again today it's pretty tough to do that as a lot of the pop culture references today are very serious in nature and it's tough to make fun of them without getting into some sort of trouble.

This movie also had a ton of cameos. A lot of the cameos were actually quite big back in the day. I remember the significance of some of these cameos but again some people might not understand the comedy in the cameos. For example Wayne is pulled over by a police officer as he's driving recklessly on the road. The police officer is played by Robert Patrick. People that enjoyed the 90's will remember him as T-1000 from Terminator. Hilariously Wayne freaks out and speeds off.

There was just so much fun with this movie. It was a lot more than I was expecting when I originally heard that there was going to be a Wayne's World 2 movie coming out. I just have so many fond memories of this movie and it still holds up today.

Overall, I really loved this movie and still do. It's such an enjoyable movie that I hope others can enjoy as much as I do. I have to give this movie a 9 out of 10. It's such a classic for me that I could re-watch this movie over and over and not get bored.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.