Geeks logo

My Review of "Wandavision: Episodes 1 and 2"

I went into this series wondering what it was. After the first two episodes, I think I know where they're going with it.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Wandavision Episodes 1 and 2 have recently come out on Disney Plus. It's a highly anticipated series since the Marvel universe has been pretty quiet for a good year now because of the pandemic. Disney you have to keep your fans happy or else you'll start to lose the hype that you guys had with End Game. There was the new Spiderman movie but that was a while ago.

Admittedly I didn't know what this show was all about. They barely gave any information about what it was in the trailers and the announcement of the show. They gave vague footage of some black and white sitcom, so it kind of looked very off brand. Still everyone's got to give it a chance. Marvel has surprised us many times with things that didn't seem to be very interesting in the beginning.

This first episode starts off pretty much a black and white sitcom in the 50's. It's really vague but you know something is up because the main characters Wanda and Vision are totally clueless as to why they're there in the first place. Regardless they go along with the black and white sitcom that I assume is supposed to be imitating the Bewitched.

Vision is still the android that can morph his body to look human and he still has all of his powers but they're hiding these powers from the neighbors around them. Wanda still has powers but it's definitely a departure from how we know her. It's not quite clear what her powers are actually. Originally I thought she was a telepath but now she seems like she can do anything. She make things just magically appear or disappear and that's totally new to me. Unfortunately she has no real consistency to her powers.

In this episode the two are supposed to arrange a dinner for a special day but neither of them know why it's a special day. Comedy ensues because they both have different interpretations of what special means. There is a little adult humor throughout the series and it is admittedly quite fun. I did laugh at a few of the jokes. I kind of miss TV shows with laugh tracks.

I thought the episode was good fun but you know that the show is going to change up later on in the season. Close to the end there's something that happens that makes you realize that the two of them are stuck in some sort of mind thing or contraption. They don't really say.

The second episode I thought was even funnier than the first. I am a sucker for corny humor so it was right up my alley. The two of them get put into some dumb situations that they could easily get out of but for the show's sake they keep up with pretenses. In this episode more is revealed closer to the end of the show. Not a lot is revealed so you'll still be guessing what's really going on but you have an idea that Wanda kind of knows.

It's weird how Wanda's character in the Marvel universe has changed so much over the years. She used to have a thick European accent and then she lost it later on in more recent Marvel movies. Now in this show she's got that old timey TV accent that they had back in the 50's. She's such an enigmatic character and always changing. I think it's easy for the writers to write her stories because there are no rules with her character.

These two episodes also dive deep into the systemic sexism that plagued society at the time. It's interesting that they would do that but yet keep the cast somewhat racially diverse. It's as if sexism existed but racism never existed. When I was observing the show it just seemed really odd that they would make the town folk of all races when we know that this wouldn't actually happen in real life. Then again this is probably a dream sequence and it's in Wanda's perspective so in that sense it does make sense.

Overall, I thought that the episodes were entertaining but for hardcore Marvel fans I'm not sure if this is up their alley. I like sitcoms so this series already floats my boat. Just be warned that there is no fighting or action sequences within these 2 episodes. So far I would give these episodes a 7 out of 10. I think I get what they're trying to pull of with Wandavision but superhero fans might not be too happy with the direction.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.