Geeks logo

My Review of "Uncut Gems"

I have a different perspective of this much talked about movie with Adam Sandler.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I have had tons of friends telling me that I should watch Uncut Gems. There has been nothing but positive buzz about this movie from the get go. It was a tough one for me because the movie didn't really seem that interesting to me. Why would I want to watch a scumbag succeed?

That's what this movie is about too. The movie starts off with miners in Africa working under horrific conditions. After a terrible disaster that puts one of the miners in an emergency situation, two of his colleagues go into the mine to chip out an uncut gem.

Cut to the main character Howard, played by Adam Sandler. He's a highly annoying sociopath that pretty much gets his way out of sheer luck and moxy. I guess I can see the appeal to this character since he's got so many flaws. The only thing is I wouldn't want to hang out with this guy and I don't know how anyone else could. He's that terrible. He cheats on his wife with a beautiful young woman and his wife is aware of the affair. I don't even know why he even attempts to cover it up with his kids. Everyone except for himself knows that he's got a major gambling problem. The movie tries to make it out that he does know what he's doing with the gambling but it's ridiculous. He lies and cheats throughout the movie to get his way no matter the consequences.

This movie goes zero to a hundred so quick and it's like it never stops. I had to watch this movie in installments because it was too much to take at certain points. Again, I can see the appeal to this movie. People love high drama and crazy things like this. To me, I like movies that will take me out but not to an uncomfortable situation like this. This is one of the movie's strengths that I appreciate but don't totally enjoy watching. The movie really makes us feel the stress of the characters. It has this weird uncanny way of making us feel as if we're really there and the circumstances of Howard's dumb decision's will somehow affect us. It's a great feat to do this but I hate movies like this.

On top of this there's so much whining and yelling in each of the scenes. It doesn't help that I'm currently suffering from a concussion. Watching this gave me additional headaches and nausea as the stress was really getting to me. For those that don't like Adam Sandler movies, I am not one of them, you should especially steer clear of this movie. He will be whining and yelling throughout the movie along with a ton of other characters in this movie.

I will give this movie it's dues. It is an interesting premise and they directed and acted in this movie wonderfully. I was in total belief that these people could be real and that this is how people would react in such situations. They put me into the movie and I truly felt their stresses. I can see why everyone is going on and on about this movie but it just isn't for me.

Overall, this movie is engulfing and real. It was just a little too real and the stress really made me queasy. I literally felt queasy watching this movie. Again, I will have to give this movie props for what they did and I understand that it is a work of art of its own but as you know art is subjective. This type of movie, while very popular, is not really my taste in movies. That's why I unfortunately will have to give this movie a 6 out of 10. People will give me crap for giving it such a low score but I couldn't recommend this movie to others. It's like telling people to appreciate a really bad day. Why?

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.