Geeks logo

My Review of "The Masked Singer: Season 6"

Things are just getting back to "normal" for this newest season of The Masked Singer.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

The Masked Singer: Season 6 has just wrapped up and if you don't already know who won well it's pretty difficult not to know by now. There were a few tweaks here and there that made this season a pretty good season. I think they've been listening to some of the suggestions I had made from the previous seasons because I noticed a lot of my complaints were addressed in this season.

This season we had only two categories; group a and group b. It was a complaint of mine in previous seasons that they had too many contestants for one season. I'm so glad that they were able to address this and had a comfortable roster amount this season. In all I believe they had about 18 contestants. That's still a considerable amount of celebrities to participate in this singing contest.

I was thinking after 5 seasons how are they able to keep getting heavy hitters on the roster? Oh they had some pretty heavy hitters this season. It just goes to show how many great singers I've forgotten about when I was watching this season. We had singers like Toni Braxton, Natasha Bedingfield, Faith Evans, Katherine McPhee and Jewel!

A lot of these great vocalists are a blast from the past and I always had this sense that I should have recognized the voice but I just couldn't put my finger on it. This season stumped me more than any other season for some reason. Perhaps it was because there were some surprise talents that I never thought could sing so well.

I knew of these celebrities like Rob Schneider, Bobby Berk, Vivica A. Fox and Larry the Cable Guy but I never thought they were able to sing the way they did. It was pretty surprising and really put a smile on my face to know that they had these hidden talents that no one else discovered up until now. These little surprises were probably the most fun of the show. To see people you never expected to be able to sing so well do really well in the contest.

The show also retained the wildcard entries which was very welcome because I love the wildcards. It puts a little chaos in the show where we don't really know what's going to happen. They have to keep up with these little change ups to keep the show fresh and they've been doing a great job with this.

This season they added duets to the table for some of the contestants. We had some surprise guest singers that were able to do a duet with our masked singers. It was a lot of fun to see. When they had Robin and Nicole help out with the duets it really floored me because I keep forgetting what talents these judges have. Robin in particular really killed it on stage with his duet with Banana Split. It made me want to listen to his older albums again.

The only thing that I don't like about the show is the recap episode that always comes up before the final episode. It's such a filler episode but those that are really into the show would probably really enjoy them. If I've seen the performance already I don't need to watch it again in another recap episode. It's already available on YouTube.

Overall, I really enjoyed this season. The amount of talent this season was pretty amazing. It goes to show you how much hidden talent is still available. Perhaps we haven't even scratched the surface? I have to give this season a 7 out of 10. It's a very fun and talent heavy season. I can't wait to watch next season.

review

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BAWritten by Brian Anonymous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.