Geeks logo

My Review of "The Masked Singer: Season 3"

There are certainly some highs and lows of this season.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Masked Singer: Season 3 started off with some much anticipation. They had just come from probably their best season with season 2. So hopes were high for this season. I'm glad that they recognized the success of their new show and doubled down on the series however it kind of stunted the show. I found that they really milked this season. This was probably the biggest problem that I had with this season.

For those that don't know, the masked singer is basically a game show where the audience is part of the show. There's a group of celebrities that are disguised in these fantastic costumes that mask their identity. Their voices are also distorted so that we can't easily recognize them. The only thing we have to help us guess who they are is their singing/performance and clues they live in their little vignettes before performing.

There's a group of judges that help give us an idea who they are and sometimes they throw us off a little. It's all in good fun and there's a lot to like about this show. I love the fact that you just don't know who is up there singing. Sometimes it's pretty obvious and the best ones are the obvious ones and you didn't suspect it's them.

Each round the audience votes on who they want to keep in the competition and the person that isn't voted gets knocked out and has to reveal who they are. There have been a lot of pretty big hitters in the past. Again, you just never know who might be up there.

Last season was possibly the best season they had. They had a lot of intrigue and a high level of talent. The performances really blew us out of the water and some of the contestants were pretty huge stars that we would never have thought would have joined this competition.

I like the fact that a lot of the stars are able to put on a different persona to throw off the crowd. They also show a lot of vulnerability up there because some of the stars that go up aren't really known as singers. I am genuinely shocked at some of the talent of the surprise guests.

The vulnerability of these guests can at times speak to us because we generally put celebrities on a pedestal. To see that these people are flawed and insecure just like the rest of us allows us to relate to them a little more. Some of these guests are doing something totally out of their comfort zone and putting it all out there for the world. It's really quite admirable.

I guess Fox realized that their show has started to become a bit of a hit after season 2 when Wayne Brady won. They really doubled down with this show by premiering the next season right after the Superbowl and added 2 new groups.

This means that there's going to be a ton more contestants and the show is going to be a lot longer. At first I thought that this was just going to be great for the show but after a while I thought Fox was really starting to milk the franchise.

Having 3 groups made the show a lot longer than I anticipated. A lot of the celebrities that have entered were people that I was totally unaware of. To be fair I kind of live under a rock when it comes to pop culture nowadays. Still it kind of threw me off because I had no idea who some of these celebrities could be because their clues made no sense to me.

I guess I felt that I didn't understand the show as well anymore. Yeah it's still the same simple premise but I didn't care to guess who some of these guests were anymore because there were just too many contestants.

It got better later when it got closer to the finals so I guess it's almost like comparing a regular season game and a playoff game. The regular games aren't nearly as fun as the playoffs. That's what it felt like when they were going through the groups.

I was also a little miffed at how much they dragged the shows with recap shows. It really felt like milking the show for all it was worth. I understand that the pandemic hit us bad and there's not much content for them to show on TV but this was bad. Also how did they do some of the shows with the pandemic going on? There was some crazy trickery going on that had me utterly confused.

Overall, I was still able to enjoy the show only here and there. Mostly closer to the finals. I'm worried that this may have affected the franchise. They should really keep to the old format and not try to make it so grand. I have to give this season a 6.5 out of 10. I was kind of disappointed with the way they programmed the show. It kind of killed the entertainment of the show.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.