Geeks logo

My Review of "The Kominsky Method: Season two"

Back from a terrific season one, we have season two of the Kominsky Method. This is what I thought of it.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I saw the Kominsky Method last year I didn't know what to think. A dramedy (comedy and drama) based on two senior citizens? I sat and binged watched the first season because it was so good. I could believe that this odd couple would riff off each other so well and have such realistic situations happen to them. Well realistic is kind of stretching it since one of old guys is super rich.

I loved each and every character in the show. I even liked all of the minor characters in the show because everyone complemented each other so well and fit into the scenarios so well. They developed each of the characters so that we had an understanding of how they would react in certain situations and they all have their vices as well.

It was also an added bonus that they were senior citizens. What I mean by that is that they're all vulnerable. You never know if someone is going to pass away or have some sort of illness. Everyone in this TV show is somewhat vulnerable and each of the characters within the series calls each other out on their vulnerabilities.

So the second season came out and the introductions of the characters is out of the way. We know who these characters are and now the writers are given more free rein to play around with the situations that arise in the series. Illnesses, mourning, reconnecting, and redemption are the themes this season. They of course deal with the ego and pride of each of the characters but this time we have a few new themes.

Sandy, played brilliantly by Michael Douglas has to deal with the fact that he's not the man that he once was. He sort of questions whether he ever was the man that he thought he was. They brilliantly add a new character in this movie to reflect his thoughts. I won't surprise the new character but it's great and you'll have a great laugh with this new addition. I really thought it was a great addition for this season.

Norman, played by Alan Arkin, is the rich senior citizen that I was talking about. It's fun to see a guy that has everything actually doesn't have everything that he wants. They play on his character again this season but a little deeper. He has a realization after a new character has been added to the series. This new character makes him realize that he has to change to have the life that he actually wants.

Speaking of new characters, there are a lot of new characters and these are pretty big stars that are jumping into this series. I was pretty impressed with it because I haven't seen some of them for a while and they were added perfectly to this TV series.

Again, the writing for this series was brilliant. I loved the season from start to finish. I think the pacing of each of the episodes was fantastic. I was never bored or felt any lull in any of the episodes. They just continue to build on this world that they're in.

Overall, I can't stop gushing over this series. I loved every minute of it and can't praise it enough. I would recommend anyone to watch this series because it's an absolute diamond in Netflix's huge array of junk. You really have to see this series if you haven't already seen it. I'll give this season a 10 out of 10. It's a must see season if you have already seen the first season of the Kominsky Method.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.