Geeks logo

My Review of "The Blind Side"

This is a 2009 movie based on a true story that I have seen before and re-watched recently.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Blind Side came out back in 2009 and I remember seeing this movie multiple times. 10 years later I decided to watch it again. I wasn't sure how good this movie was until I re-watched it recently. Obviously after 10 years there are a few controversies surrounding this movie including Michael Oher's take on the movie, and the fact that people are against movies about "white saviors".

I chose to look at this movie again blindly. Well I can't totally go in blindly because the controversies are in the back of my head. It's a movie, so obviously the movie makers are going to twist a few things to make us more emotionally invested into the story.

If you haven't seen The Blind Side it's about a wholesome Christian white family that adopts a poor black kid into their family. That description may sound pretty messed up but really they talk about some of those issues in the movie.

Some would argue that it's too wholesome and goody two shoes but sometimes it's nice to see these types of movies to get away from it all. The message of the whole movie is not about race it's about doing what's right.

I thought they did a great job tugging the audience's hearts in certain scenes. The cast did a great job in portraying their characters. Each and every one of the characters had some spark to them that you can identify with. You understand all of their motivations. Each of the scenes fall into place very nicely without having to question anything.

Now it's pretty obvious that the circumstances of the family and Michael Oher, played by Quinton Aaron are definitely different from most of us. The Tuohy family is a pretty well to do family. The father Sean Tuohy, played by Tim McGraw owns multiple fast food chains. The mother Leigh Anne Tuohy, played by Sandra Bullock is a high end arts dealer. They're richer than a lot of us can comprehend.

Michael has probably suffered from more atrocities than a lot of us have in our lifetimes. He's lived in multiple foster homes. His mother is addicted to drugs and has had multiple children from men that she doesn't even know. His father had committed suicide. He can't even find his brothers and sister's because he doesn't know where they are. Even worse is that he doesn't have a home and doesn't have any money to support himself.

Everything that happens always comes back to the same lessons. Family is extremely important and that we should do the right thing when bad things happen. So yes this is for the most part a family movie and as such you shouldn't expect much more than good wholesome fun while watching it.

They also mentioned the children's book Ferdinand which I did a review for a little while back: https://vocal.media/geeks/my-review-of-ferdinand. I didn't realize this was a children's book. It was really fun to see that the story of the Blind Side actually mirrors the story of Ferdinand. I guess it was foreshadowing of things to come.

So it was a fun, exciting and exhilarating entertainment watching this movie once again. Even though this movie is 10 years old. It was as fun watching it today as it was back in 2009. Don't let the naysayer prevent you from having fun watching this movie. It's really worth your time.

Overall, since I still had a really good time watching this movie after 10 years and multiple playbacks I would have to say this movie is a high caliber movie for me. I'll have to give this movie a 9 out of 10. I couldn't believe I caught new things from watching it again after all these years. It's just plain fun for anyone looking to watch something that'll make them feel good after they've finished watching.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.