Geeks logo

My Review of "Save Yourselves"

A low budget comedy about millennials in an alien invasion.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Save Yourselves is probably a movie that you've never heard of. I've never heard of this movie until it popped up on my streaming radar. The premise of the story had me hooked right away. I love disaster movies and I like comedies so why not have the two together. The only thing is it's a different type of comedy that I'm starting to see more often.

This movie starts off innocently enough. You have this couple, Su and Jack. They are your stereotypical millennial couple living in New York. Both of them are fairly well off and have fairly quirky mannerisms. Su works in some sort of travel agency while Jack works with some high tech company.

It's apparent right from the beginning of the movie that these two are slaves to technology much like the rest of us. They even have arguments over the use of their gadgets. You get where they're going with this. It isn't long before they go to a party and meet up with one of Jack's wilderness friends.

His friend isn't using his cottage out in the country for a week and asked if Su and Jack would like to spend some time out there. The two agree to go to the cottage for a week. As they prepare for the trip they realize just how dependent they are on their technology. With this realization they opted to go to this cottage for a whole week without any Internet. I'm sure a lot of people try to do this just to get away from being wired to the rest of the world.

As they leave the big city for the open country there seems to be a bunch of things coming down on earth. They're oblivious of the foreign objects as they're already on their way out of the city. Hilariously enough there are a few clues for them to notice but they play it off as if it wasn't really a big deal.

A lot of the jokes come from their obliviousness of their situation even though it's obvious something isn't right. I thought it was pretty hilarious how real this movie got when our main protagonists realize they don't really have any real wilderness skills and they're really stuck in the middle of nowhere with murderous aliens coming after them.

The movie doesn't really get as scary as I thought it would. They had a lot of opportunities of giving us some suspenseful moments with real scares. It's too bad they didn't take those opportunities to scare the dickens out of us. There is this ongoing joke of when Jack wakes up in the middle of the night and it had me in hysterics.

That's not to say that everyone will get this type of humor. It's a new type of humor that I find in a lot of comedies now. They play off realism to its absurdity or perhaps to its utter awkwardness. I'm starting to recognize the joys of this type of humor so I got a good chuckle at some of the jokes that happened in this movie.

You'll have to remember it's a low budget movie and you can probably tell with some of its practical effects and clever use of camera angles. When you consider this you'll have to give this movie even more props for pulling this whole thing off.

They're able to keep some sort of consistency with the world building and the lore of the aliens. I found that pretty impressive. Sometimes with comedies they think more about the jokes than the consistency of the rules of the world they live in.

My only gripe about this movie was that I kind of wanted to see more by the end. They left it off by making the whole movie more and more bizarre. By the end something huge happens to them and you don't really get to find out what happens next for them. Let's hope that enough people watch this movie for them to spawn a sequel.

Overall, I had a good time with this movie. I thought that they didn't really go over the top with this one. It was an enjoyable one but I wouldn't say it's in the drop everything you have to see this movie category. I have to give this movie a 7 out of 10. I think I would be able to recommend this movie to a few of my friends. Of course they have to know this type of humor to get it.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.