Geeks logo

My Review of "Rob Schneider: Asian Momma, Mexican Kids"

Rob Schneider doing stand up comedy? This is something I never thought I'd see.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Rob Schneider: Asian Momma, Mexican Kids is Rob's new Netflix exclusive comedy special. The thing is, I haven't ever seen Rob do a comedy special before. I didn't even know he did stand up. We've all known him for doing sketch comedy from Saturday Night Live and a whole slew of Adam Sandler movies. This was definitely going to be something different from what we usually see from Rob.

First off I have to let you know that this special is extremely short. It really blows by really fast. I don't know if this was intentional or that he didn't have enough material by the time the special was set to happen. I believe the whole runtime of the special is about 44 minutes and that includes the end credits as well as Rob introducing his loving family and a duet with his daughter Elle King.

I didn't know who Elle King let alone that she was Rob's daughter. She's an extremely talented singer and it was nice to see Rob and his daughter sing a duet at the very end when they were in introducing his family. It definitely seems that Rob is living the life because that looks like a really happy, beautiful and loving family.

As far as the comedy goes, there is plenty to like here. I was actually really surprised at how entertaining his set was. Again he's not known for stand-up comedy and I've seen other sketch comedians try to dip their toe in their own stand-up specials only to fail. Then again they don't have the experienced comedy friends that Rob does. He was probably able to go to them to ask for help in fixing his material and it definitely showed.

Although it is a very short set it was very funny. It's kind of weird because a lot of his jokes are in the trailer for the show and if you watch the trailer then you kind of have almost 25% of the whole show right there. Luckily for Rob he mixes up his set starting with a retrospection of his personal life living in his 50's.

He then goes into a discussion of his family life. It's quite interesting because you can tell that his jokes are genuinely based on real life experiences. He talks about his young daughters and his Mexican wife. There is one story in the set that totally had everyone thrown off. We can tell that he's telling the truth but the truth is a big shocker and the reaction in the audience is pretty funny as well.

I also liked the fact that he was able to use logic thinking to make us laugh at a lot of the jokes that he made. An example of this is when he was talking about how he and his wife were trying to potty train their 3 year old daughter. The story is quite funny and relatable because of the logical punchline to his joke.

As we all recognize Rob from a lot of his antics from his sketch comedy it's nice to see that he was able to utilize some of the skills he's honed over the years into his special. He's got great comedic timing, he uses his mannerisms and facial expressions masterfully. It was great to see that he was able to translate all of his hard work over the years to elevate this comedy special.

This special was surprisingly smarter than I expected it to be. I was expecting crude and gross out jokes. There were some in there but that's not the full extent of the special. He was able to push a ton of different type of material into this short special. I kind of wished he was able to make a longer special because I really did enjoy this special.

I liked the fact that we learned so much about him but I wanted to hear even more. This only means that he created a good special. Hit them with the laughs and have them wanting more.

Overall, I would say that people have to ignore Rob's film choices in the past and watch this movie with a blank slate. This way you will have no expectations and you will be pleasantly surprised at what he can do. I have to give this special an 8 out of 10. Like I said before it's a little bit on the short side. I wish this special was a bit longer than the 44 minute runtime they gave us.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.