Geeks logo

My Review of "Professor Marston & the Wonder Women"

Based on the true story of the creator of comic book heroine Wonder Woman. This was not what I was expecting.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I first heard of the movie Professor Marston & the Wonder Women back in 2017. Back then I thought it was a really peculiar name but the Wonder Woman movie had just come out and it was a big box office hit. I would soon find out that the movie was about the creator of the comic book heroine Wonder Woman. Well duh, why didn't I think of that?

Admittedly, I knew nothing about Professor William Marston. I had no idea he had such a crazy life. To me his life in this movie seemed far more interesting than the comic book movie. His story is so crazy it would be a shame if they didn't tell it in a movie or a book.

The movie starts with professor William Marston, played by Luke Evans. He's put on some trial because he had created the Wonder Woman comic book. I was already confused because I've seen the Wonder Woman movie and I don't remember seeing anything in that movie that was worthy of burning comic books. Then again those were different times and people were extremely conservative back then. Little did I know that there was much more to the banning Wonder Woman than meets the eye.

It then quickly goes to a flashback where professor Marston and his wife Elizabeth, played by Rebecca Hall, are Harvard university psychology professors. They're on the verge of a breakthrough for their latest research project. There's only a few missing pieces to their lie detector machine.

As most research professors they teach classes. They need volunteers to help them with their lie detector machine and in comes Olive, played by Bella Heathcote. She's a beautiful young student with with a famous feminist pedigree. She seems to be the only one willing to volunteer to help out their research project.

Immediately, Elizabeth seems to jealously confront Olive in a very rude manner. It would seem to the audience that this will be the start of the drama of this movie. Little do we all know that this is the start of a crazy ride that goes zero to a hundred real fast. I won't give away anymore of this story because I think I enjoyed the reveal more because I didn't know anything.

It's an unconventional love story but it's a fun ride. They deal with all sorts of craziness and you really appreciate the defiance of the characters. These people were truly open thinkers that you wouldn't have expected back in those days. Especially when you think of the characters that they had to deal with.

This movie deals with a ton of different themes that you might not expect in this movie. As they tell the story they give you little clues as to where professor Marston got his inspiration for Wonder Woman. All of the characteristics and story-line of Wonder Woman are detailed throughout the movie. It's fun to spot them throughout the movie.

The cast did a great job in breathing life into the characters that they played. I thought that each of the scenes quickly flew by because I was having so much fun watching the movie. It really is a wild ride despite the fact there's very little violence in it. You'll get swept away with all of the character relationships going on.

Overall, I really enjoyed this movie, more than I expected to. I guess I'll have to watch that Tokien movie now because this movie has inspired me to watch it as well. Sometimes the creators are more interesting than the things that they create. I would highly recommend this movie to others. I'll just be sure not to tell them too many details of the movie. With that said, I'll have to give this movie an 8 out of 10. Definitely a movie to watch.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.