Geeks logo

My Review of "Only Murders in the Building: Season One"

This show really caught me by surprise. Am I becoming a fan of murder comedies now?

By Brian AnonymousPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Only Murders in the Building: Season One was released in 2021. I know I'm a bit late to the show for this one but at least I actually get to realize how good this show is. This is a show that's been on my radar for quite a while because it was getting some good publicity. Unfortunately I wasn't really into murder mystery shows even though this was a comedy. That is until I saw Knives Out and its sequel Glass Onion. I had to check this one out right after.

This TV show takes place in an affluent apartment building in New York city called Arconia. Here we meet our three main tenants Oliver, Charles and Mabel. The three could not be more different but they kind of feel like the Freudian concepts the id, ego and superego. Much like how Star Trek had Kirk, Spock and Bones.

A fire alarm had pushed them out of their apartment only to unite at a diner. There they bond over their common love of a popular murder mystery podcast. Eventually they find out that during that little fire alarm there was a murder in their own apartment.

The murder was quickly swept under the rug as an apparent suicide but something seemed very fishy to our three amateur sleuths. They refused to believe that this was simply a suicide as they recalled their own encounters with the murdered victim. This will fester in their minds for a while.

That is until Oliver decides that they should create a murder mystery podcast of their own based on this apparent suicide. The three unanimously agree on this exciting venture and that's your story for this series.

I have to say this season was beautifully crafted. The pacing was out of this world. They will have you wanting more after each episode much like a murder mystery podcast. This show is also fully aware of itself as it satires not only murder mystery podcasts but the social climate that we live in today. The dynamics of our main characters is oddly very inviting and warm. They constantly jab at each other with insults but you know it's from a good place in their hearts. I really came to love all of the characters in this show.

Not only is this show very well crafted but it obviously has a few twists and turns along the way. It's to be expected that there will be some twists with the concept of murder but they really put me on my head at times when they pulled the carpet from under me. All this is done with very good comedic timing.

You'll recognize a ton of stars in this show. There are even some starts that make surprising significant cameos. I also loved the way they played upon each theme of each episode. They even have an episode where there is no audible dialogue throughout the episode. You can tell that a lot of special care and attention has been put into this show.

It's quite easily digestible too. Each episode is only 30 minutes long and there are only 10 episodes in the season. You'll be done this in a weekend. If you're anything like me I'm sure you'll binge it all in 2 days.

Overall, saying I liked this season is an understatement. I can't believe a show of this caliber is being overlooked by a lot of people. Then again I overlooked it because I didn't think I'd get into murder mysteries. When I'm wrong I can admit it. This show is absolutely amazing and that's why I have to give it a 9 out of 10. I can't wait to see the second season because it ends on a pretty big note.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.