Geeks logo

My Review of "Nope"

The trailer played into my misdirection for this movie. Great job!

By Brian AnonymousPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Nope was a hotly anticipated movie of 2022. It surprises me that it took me this long to see it. I'm not really big into horror movies so that could be a reason why I tip toed around it but I finally got a chance to see it. Boy was I in for a surprise and in all the right ways. What I saw from the trailers misdirected me. I thought this movie was going to go into a totally different direction.

This movie starts out with the build up of the relationship with Otis and his son Otis Junior or OJ. The two are obviously close in a muted and old school kind of way. However there is a horrible incident that causes the demise of Otis and OJ has to unfortunately witness this horrific act. This obviously scars OJ and you wonder the state of his mental well-being as a result.

Their family business was in the movie industry. The family raised and tamed horses for the industry. Otis would be the head guy but now it's up to OJ and his sister Emerald to take up the reigns of the business. Due to Otis' awkwardness around people, Emerald has to be the face of the business. She's not exactly up to the task as she's not well organized or very professional.

In fact Emerald is kind of the dunce that causes a lot of trouble. She's a pivotal part to keep the suspense of the movie up and tense because of her actions. You get a sense that she doesn't care but she does. Emerald has a resentment for the business from actions from the past whereas OJ wants to keep the family business running.

While all this is happening we start to notice some odd things around the family ranch. It doesn't take long for the movie to reveal there's some sort of UFO that is occupying the area. This UFO is sort of a curse and sort of a relief at the same time. OJ can be rest assured that he wasn't going crazy about all the weird stuff that happened in the past. Still he has to deal with it.

The majority of the movie is about the family's pursuit to capture video of this UFO so that they can get rich. It's sort metaphor about old analogue video versus new digital video. There's a lot of small nuanced allegories, metaphors and similes sprinkled throughout this movie. They talk about the old ways versus the new ways a lot. This is especially between the dichotomy of OJ and his sister Emerald.

Another important element of this movie is based off of taming wild animals. It draws upon OJ's experiences of training horses in the past. His training in the past becomes crucial throughout the movie. There are certain scenes that just don't seem to make sense in this movie at first. You'll later see that it eventually makes sense later on. Those earlier scenes are to help you understand the setup for the scenes later on in the movie. I I thought it was pretty cleverly disguised as they make you think that they're the regular mill red herrings in the movie.

As a horror movie I wouldn't say it's scary at all. They don't even have any jump scares in this movie. A lot of the horror comes from the environment and feel of the movie. It's made in a very creepy, paranoid atmosphere that will keep you at the edge of your seat throughout the runtime. The pacing of this movie was never an issue as a result.

If you watched the trailers for this movie they will give you an idea of what it is about. In some ways it is about that however the trailer will give you a preconceived notion as to what will happen. Those thoughts will race in your head and give you misdirection throughout the movie. I thought this was a very smart way of doing trailers. It goes against the grain and I loved the fact that it pulled the rug from under me.

Overall, I had a very good time with this movie. It's one of the few movies where they tried to give you a lot of information in the trailer only to sucker punch you while watching it. I loved that. There wasn't a time in this movie that trailed. I was hooked from start to finish. In fact I could see myself watching this movie many times over. I have to give this movie a 9 out of 10. This is probably my favorite Jordan Peele movie yet.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.